CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN

MINUTES OF THE

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS

ON 11 MAY 2023

PRESENT: Mayor, Councillor Asfour

Councillors Abouraad, Cahill, Coorey, Downey, El-Hayek, Harika, Nguyen,

Raffan, Saleh OAM, Waiba, Walsh and Zakhia

APOLOGIES Councillors Akter and Ishac

HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR DECLARED THE MEETING OPEN AT 7.35PM.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

THE MAYOR, ACKNOWLEDGED THE TRADITIONAL OWNERS OF THE LAND WHERE WE ARE MEETING TODAY THE DARUG (DARAG, DHARUG, DARUK AND DHARUK) AND THE EORA PEOPLES, AND PAID RESPECT TO THEIR ANCIENT CULTURE AND THEIR ELDERS PAST AND PRESENT.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

(417) CLR. ABOURAAD:/CLR. DOWNEY

RESOLVED that Leave of Absence be granted to Clrs Akter and Ishac due to personal reasons.

- CARRIED

CLR WAIBA ARRIVED IN THE CHAMBER AT 7.39PM.

CLR SALEH OAM ARRIVED IN THE CHAMBER AT 7.40PM.

CLR COOREY TEMPORARILY VACATED THE CHAMBER AT 7.42PM AND RETURNED AT 7.43PM.

SECTION 1: GOVERNANCE AND ADMINISTRATION MATTERS

ITEM 1.1 MAYORAL ELECTION - MAY 2023 TO SEPTEMBER 2023

(418) CLR. DOWNEY:/CLR. WALSH

RESOLVED that

- In accordance with Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 the Chief Executive Officer, as the Returning Officer, conduct the Election of the Mayor.
- 2. In the event that there be more than one (1) nomination, the method of voting be open voting.

- CARRIED

CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN

MINUTES OF THE

EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS

ON 11 MAY 2023

His Worship the Mayor Clr Asfour vacated the Chair at 7.44pm. The Chief Executive Officer assumed the role of Returning Officer.

The Returning Officer called for nominations in writing for the office of Mayor for the period May 2023 to September 2023.

The following nomination was received:-

CLR EL-HAYEK

THE RETURNING OFFICER THEN DECLARED CLR EL-HAYEK ELECTED TO THE OFFICE OF MAYOR FOR THE PERIOD MAY 2023 TO SEPTEMBER 2023.

AT THIS STAGE HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR, CLR EL-HAYEK ASSUMED THE CHAIR AT 7.46PM.

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 8.20PM.

Minutes confirmed 23 MAY 2023
......
Mayor