SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Youth get connected through local wellbeing program

Youth get connected through local wellbeing program Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program. No Youth get connected through local wellbeing program Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
A young man smiling

Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program.

Get Connected is an eight-week in-school program, delivered to Year 10 students at seven high schools in Canterbury-Bankstown, funded under Council’s Community Grants program, and delivered by a variety of local youth groups, including Mission Australia, Youth Off the Streets, and Chester Hill and Coolaburoo Neighbourhood Centres.

One of the schools involved is Canterbury Boys High. Student Support Officer, Stephanie Goni, said the program has done wonders for participants and helps set them up for the future.

"By the end of the eight weeks, they would have built their employment skills by completing their First Aid and White card certificates, as well as become more aware of the services and resources available to them in the local community," she said.

"We’ve found students feel more confident in social situations; are better equipped when attending employment interviews; happier in their personal lives; are able to better control their emotions; have a greater understanding of the law and their rights; and have a greater understanding around sexual health and consent.

"Overall, it has been a really positive program for us, so much so that we have students asking if they can join the program."

Throughout the eight weeks a variety of workshops are held. Topics covered include:

  • Self-awareness;
  • Responsibility; 
  • Personal health care; 
  • Relationships; 
  • Critical thinking; 
  • Risk taking; and 
  • Employment and life planning.

 7/08/2019 10:13 AM