SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Youth get connected through local wellbeing program

Youth get connected through local wellbeing program Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program. No Youth get connected through local wellbeing program Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
A young man smiling

Local teenage boys at risk of leaving school, or dealing with other issues that may impact their ability to learn, are the target of a new wellbeing program.

Get Connected is an eight-week in-school program, delivered to Year 10 students at seven high schools in Canterbury-Bankstown, funded under Council’s Community Grants program, and delivered by a variety of local youth groups, including Mission Australia, Youth Off the Streets, and Chester Hill and Coolaburoo Neighbourhood Centres.

One of the schools involved is Canterbury Boys High. Student Support Officer, Stephanie Goni, said the program has done wonders for participants and helps set them up for the future.

"By the end of the eight weeks, they would have built their employment skills by completing their First Aid and White card certificates, as well as become more aware of the services and resources available to them in the local community," she said.

"We’ve found students feel more confident in social situations; are better equipped when attending employment interviews; happier in their personal lives; are able to better control their emotions; have a greater understanding of the law and their rights; and have a greater understanding around sexual health and consent.

"Overall, it has been a really positive program for us, so much so that we have students asking if they can join the program."

Throughout the eight weeks a variety of workshops are held. Topics covered include:

  • Self-awareness;
  • Responsibility; 
  • Personal health care; 
  • Relationships; 
  • Critical thinking; 
  • Risk taking; and 
  • Employment and life planning.

 7/08/2019 10:13 AM