SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Youth Action Plan

Youth Action Plan A Youth Action Plan has been approved by City of Canterbury Bankstown, to meet the needs of local youth. Yes Youth Action Plan A Youth Action Plan has been approved by City of Canterbury Bankstown, to meet the needs of local youth. News Columns; News and Updates
Youth group

A Youth Action Plan has been approved by City of Canterbury Bankstown, to meet the needs of local youth.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the plan commits Council to improving the lives of young people in CBCity.

"Our City is home to more than 65,000 residents, aged 12 to 24, making up about 17 per cent of the population," he said.

"Recognising and responding to the changing needs of our youth is key to developing Canterbury-Bankstown into a youth-friendly city.

"They are culturally diverse and aware, open-minded and supportive of each other, which is a reason why we need to focus on what motivates and connects them.

"We want young people to feel protected, have a healthy and happy upbringing, express their opinions and have a fair chance in life."

The Youth Action Plan aims to contribute to building the resilience of young people and improving their connection to the community by:

  • Including information on youth services, programs and events on Council’s website;
  • Ensuring public places are welcoming for women and girls;
  • Introducing programs to increase young people’s understanding of mental health and wellbeing;
  • Upskilling young people around education and employment pathways; and
  • Running youth-led forums to communicate the challenges and benefits of intergenerational relationships, family cultural expectations and volunteering.

Community engagement with young people, parents and carers, and youth service providers, guided the development of the plan. This included:

  • An online survey (193 respondents);
  • Eight information sessions; and
  • Eight focus groups.

For more information on the Youth Action Plan, visit cb.city/youthplan


 11/12/2019 1:31 PM