SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

White Ribbon showcase breaks the silence

White Ribbon showcase breaks the silence Around 100 people from Canterbury-Bankstown will break their silence when they perform at Bankstown Central Shopping Centre on Thursday (25 July), in the White Ribbon Break the Silence Youth Showcase. No Around 100 people from Canterbury-Bankstown will break their silence when they perform at Bankstown Central Shopping Centre on Thursday (25 July), in the White Ribbon Break the Silence Youth Showcase. News and Updates; Media Releases
White Ribbon Day logo

Around 100 people from Canterbury-Bankstown will break their silence when they perform at Bankstown Central Shopping Centre on Thursday (25 July), in the White Ribbon Break the Silence Youth Showcase.

The show, which will take place at 6pm, will include various songs, dances and other performances, all with the message of speaking up about ending violence against women.

The special event is being coordinated by Bankstown Youth Development Service (BYDS) and Bankstown White Ribbon working party, of which Council is a member.

Mayor Khal Asfour welcomed local youth putting their voice to an important and worthy cause.

"I am proud our youth understand the seriousness of domestic violence and, more than that, they want to raise awareness in the community," he said.

According to the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research, CBCity is ranked 82 out of 120 Local Government Areas for domestic violence-related assaults, with a 15 per cent drop over the past three years.

"Just because our statistics have gone down, doesn’t mean domestic violence is ever tolerable in our community," Mayor Asfour said.

Some of the performances at the upcoming show will include students from the BYDS’ R.E.S.P.E.C.T Program, Banksia Road Public School, Birrong Public School and Condell Park Public School, former R.E.S.P.E.C.T participants and community members, including a mother’s rap group.

"It has grown so much that this year we’ve had to order more than 200 chairs just to accommodate the expected audience," BYDS Coordinator Craig Taunton said.

"Even though we’re in our fourth year, the aim is to keep building on it and that is exactly what we’ve done this year.

"We have parents who watched last year who are a part of it this year’s showcase, and even a number of former R.E.S.P.E.C.T students are coming back to perform."


 24/07/2019 3:34 PM