SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Tsunami volunteer tells her story

Tsunami volunteer tells her story A woman who’s decision to help hundreds of people left homeless following a tsunami in Sri Lanka, and led to her devoting the next decade of her life to volunteering, has been captured in a new book Accidental Aid Worker. No  

A woman who’s decision to help hundreds of people left homeless following a tsunami in Sri Lanka, and led to her devoting the next decade of her life to volunteering, has been captured in a new book Accidental Aid Worker.

The book is Sue Liu’s memoir which she will recount at Campsie Library and Knowledge Centre at 6pm on Wednesday 22 May.

In the wake of the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami, Ms Liu teamed up with a tour guide and a Catholic priest to deliver aid to those recovering on the northeast coast of Sri Lanka. What followed was a 12-year obsession with helping others, including children in Cambodia, and refugees and homeless people in Sydney.

"My story is all about community and what you can do to help those around you," Ms Liu said.

"Canterbury-Bankstown is a loving, multicultural community, which I know will understand the message of my book and embrace it."

Ms Liu said that message was more important now than ever, in light of the recent terrorist attacks in New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

"With these recent events of violence, we’re confronted with the realities of what war and violence can do to tear at the veils that hold communities together," she said.

"This is a time when we all need to come together to help and support each other."

The talk is free and signed copies of Accidental Aid Worker will be available for $35, with $5 from each book donated to charity.

For more information, call 9789 9423, or visit cb.city/library


 14/05/2019 2:06 PM