SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Sydney Festival comes to CBCity

Sydney Festival comes to CBCity For the first time in the history of the Sydney Festival, City of Canterbury Bankstown will be taking part by hosting an event featuring local talents. Yes Sydney Festival comes to CBCity For the first time in the history of the Sydney Festival, City of Canterbury Bankstown will be taking part by hosting an event featuring local talents. Events; What's On
Black Drop Effect

For the first time in the history of the Sydney Festival, City of Canterbury Bankstown will be taking part by hosting an event featuring local talents.

Black Drop Effect, a creative new play by musician and writer Nardi Simpson, will be hosted at Bankstown Arts Centre, as part of the Sydney Festival, from 14 to 18 January 2020.

Nardi Simpson said the play is a story that explores the culture and complexities of Australia’s shared history between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities.

"There are so many different cultures in Canterbury-Bankstown, it is the perfect home for the production," Nardi Simpson said.

"We are utilising the universal languages of music and dance to allow audiences to explore the generational conflict in today’s black and white society."

Mayor Khal Asfour said it is an honour to showcase the production as part of the Sydney Festival.

"Being one of the most culturally diverse communities in Australia, it is fitting to welcome this show to Canterbury-Bankstown," he said.

"The show is a multimedia production, incorporating originally composed music, traditional dance, projections and video, which all come together to tell a powerful story.

"It will be a great show and a great way for the community to learn more about Aboriginal culture, sensitivities, and celebrations.

"To help launch the premiere of this fantastic show, we would also like to invite our Aboriginal community for a FREE exclusive showing of Black Drop Effect at Bankstown Arts Centre on Monday 13 January."

The show will be running every night from 8pm at Bankstown Arts Centre from Tuesday 14 January to Saturday 18 January. Tickets start from $30 and can be purchased online at cb.city/whatson


 8/01/2020 3:17 PM