SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Staff volunteer in community

Staff volunteer in community Staff from the City of Canterbury Bankstown are taking part in a new program, aimed at assisting community groups and not-for-profit organisations. No  

Staff from the City of Canterbury Bankstown are taking part in a new program, aimed at assisting community groups and not-for-profit organisations.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the Corporate Volunteering Program will see them dedicate two days in the year to helping the following organisations:

  • Bankstown City Aged Care;
  • Humanity Matters;
  • Riverwood Community Centre;
  • Chester Hill Neighbourhood Centre; and
  • Greenacre Area Community Centre.

"Our local groups and not-for-profit organisations do such incredible work in our community," Mayor Asfour said.

"We already assist them through our annual Community Grants program, where they apply for funding totaling around half a million dollars each year, but now the staff want to personally pitch in and make a difference.

"This is just another way we can say thank you to them.

"We anticipate this pilot program will be a great success. If that is the case, we intend to expand it so we can help even more groups."

Humanity Matters offers a range of local services, including providing food to those who are struggling financially, and youth work.

"I think this initiative is absolutely phenomenal and I can’t wait to see the great things that Council staff will be able to offer," the organisation’s community connections officer, Sarkis Achmar, said.

"There are people in our community doing it tough and who are often shunned, and through us connecting them with Council staff, we can help get them on the right track."


 20/11/2018 10:06 AM