SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Staff volunteer in community

Staff volunteer in community Staff from the City of Canterbury Bankstown are taking part in a new program, aimed at assisting community groups and not-for-profit organisations. No  

Staff from the City of Canterbury Bankstown are taking part in a new program, aimed at assisting community groups and not-for-profit organisations.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the Corporate Volunteering Program will see them dedicate two days in the year to helping the following organisations:

  • Bankstown City Aged Care;
  • Humanity Matters;
  • Riverwood Community Centre;
  • Chester Hill Neighbourhood Centre; and
  • Greenacre Area Community Centre.

"Our local groups and not-for-profit organisations do such incredible work in our community," Mayor Asfour said.

"We already assist them through our annual Community Grants program, where they apply for funding totaling around half a million dollars each year, but now the staff want to personally pitch in and make a difference.

"This is just another way we can say thank you to them.

"We anticipate this pilot program will be a great success. If that is the case, we intend to expand it so we can help even more groups."

Humanity Matters offers a range of local services, including providing food to those who are struggling financially, and youth work.

"I think this initiative is absolutely phenomenal and I can’t wait to see the great things that Council staff will be able to offer," the organisation’s community connections officer, Sarkis Achmar, said.

"There are people in our community doing it tough and who are often shunned, and through us connecting them with Council staff, we can help get them on the right track."


 20/11/2018 10:06 AM