SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Spring clean at Chemical Clean-Out

Spring clean at Chemical Clean-Out Residents have the opportunity to do some spring cleaning, by disposing of unwanted items chemical waste at Council’s Household Chemical Clean-Out event. No  

Residents have the opportunity to do some spring cleaning, by disposing of unwanted items chemical waste at Council’s Household Chemical Clean-Out event.

The second clean-out day for the year will be held on Saturday 13 October, 9am-3.30pm, at Bankstown Paceway.

Mayor Khal Asfour said these events are always popular because it’s an easy and convenient way of disposing of items that cannot be safely disposed of in household rubbish bins.

"At our last event in February at Campsie, more than 560 residents attended and brought 27 tonnes of chemicals, mostly paints, batteries and gas cylinders," Mayor Asfour said.

Residents can bring up to 20 litres or 20 kilograms of the following household chemicals and items:

  • Solvents and household cleaners;
  • Ammonia-based cleaners;
  • Pesticides and herbicides;
  • Pool chemicals;
  • Motor fuels;
  • Fluorescent globes and tubes;
  • Acids and alkalis;
  • Smoke detectors;
  • Paint and paint-related products;
  • Gas bottles;
  • Fire extinguishers;
  • Car and household batteries; and
  • Oils.

"We’ve been conditioned to storing chemicals in a safe place in our homes, especially when we have small children," Mayor Asfour said. "But we need to remember what the hazards are when we dispose of these chemicals.

"If chemicals are thrown in the bin, they will go to landfill and are toxic and dangerous for workers, our waterways and environment."

For more information, and for a list of items which can be dropped off at the Household Chemical Clean-Out event, visit cb.city/chemicalcleanout


 11/10/2018 2:13 PM