SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Spring clean at Chemical Clean-Out

Spring clean at Chemical Clean-Out Residents have the opportunity to do some spring cleaning, by disposing of unwanted items chemical waste at Council’s Household Chemical Clean-Out event. No  

Residents have the opportunity to do some spring cleaning, by disposing of unwanted items chemical waste at Council’s Household Chemical Clean-Out event.

The second clean-out day for the year will be held on Saturday 13 October, 9am-3.30pm, at Bankstown Paceway.

Mayor Khal Asfour said these events are always popular because it’s an easy and convenient way of disposing of items that cannot be safely disposed of in household rubbish bins.

"At our last event in February at Campsie, more than 560 residents attended and brought 27 tonnes of chemicals, mostly paints, batteries and gas cylinders," Mayor Asfour said.

Residents can bring up to 20 litres or 20 kilograms of the following household chemicals and items:

  • Solvents and household cleaners;
  • Ammonia-based cleaners;
  • Pesticides and herbicides;
  • Pool chemicals;
  • Motor fuels;
  • Fluorescent globes and tubes;
  • Acids and alkalis;
  • Smoke detectors;
  • Paint and paint-related products;
  • Gas bottles;
  • Fire extinguishers;
  • Car and household batteries; and
  • Oils.

"We’ve been conditioned to storing chemicals in a safe place in our homes, especially when we have small children," Mayor Asfour said. "But we need to remember what the hazards are when we dispose of these chemicals.

"If chemicals are thrown in the bin, they will go to landfill and are toxic and dangerous for workers, our waterways and environment."

For more information, and for a list of items which can be dropped off at the Household Chemical Clean-Out event, visit cb.city/chemicalcleanout


 11/10/2018 2:13 PM