SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Sparking the night time economy

Sparking the night time economy Representatives from councils throughout Sydney have converged on Bankstown to discuss ways to inject life into night time economies. No  

Representatives from councils throughout Sydney have converged on Bankstown to discuss ways to inject life into night time economies.

The Urban Planning Masterclass looked at how urban planning can be used to create and develop vibrant and sustainable night time economies. At the completion of the masterclass, a reference document was developed, covering:

  • Relevant NSW Government policies;
  • Global and local trends;
  • What councils need to consider when developing plans;
  • What provisions can be included in local planning policies;
  • How to include innovative developments, like shared workspaces, in the assessment of development applications; and
  • How councils and private enterprises can increase occupation and activation of ground floor space, in mixed-use developments.

Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, Khal Asfour, welcomed the focus on night time economies, something the Council is looking to inject more life into.

“Every April, Lakemba is turned into a late-night bazaar, with crowds of up to 20,000 people flocking to Haldon Street each night, to celebrate the holy month of Ramadan,” he said.

“We’ve also undertaken a number of studies into night-time activities in our town centres, and conducted trials and pilot programs.

“And, the City looks set to get its first rooftop bar at Bankstown Sports Club, after it was recently approved by Council.”

The Mayor indicated a number of other projects are in the pipeline.

“We’re in the process of creating a new vision for Paul Keating Park and the surrounding area, along with a Night Time Economy Strategy,” Mayor Asfour said.


 27/11/2018 2:23 PM