SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Sparking the night time economy

Sparking the night time economy Representatives from councils throughout Sydney have converged on Bankstown to discuss ways to inject life into night time economies. No  

Representatives from councils throughout Sydney have converged on Bankstown to discuss ways to inject life into night time economies.

The Urban Planning Masterclass looked at how urban planning can be used to create and develop vibrant and sustainable night time economies. At the completion of the masterclass, a reference document was developed, covering:

  • Relevant NSW Government policies;
  • Global and local trends;
  • What councils need to consider when developing plans;
  • What provisions can be included in local planning policies;
  • How to include innovative developments, like shared workspaces, in the assessment of development applications; and
  • How councils and private enterprises can increase occupation and activation of ground floor space, in mixed-use developments.

Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, Khal Asfour, welcomed the focus on night time economies, something the Council is looking to inject more life into.

“Every April, Lakemba is turned into a late-night bazaar, with crowds of up to 20,000 people flocking to Haldon Street each night, to celebrate the holy month of Ramadan,” he said.

“We’ve also undertaken a number of studies into night-time activities in our town centres, and conducted trials and pilot programs.

“And, the City looks set to get its first rooftop bar at Bankstown Sports Club, after it was recently approved by Council.”

The Mayor indicated a number of other projects are in the pipeline.

“We’re in the process of creating a new vision for Paul Keating Park and the surrounding area, along with a Night Time Economy Strategy,” Mayor Asfour said.


 27/11/2018 2:23 PM