SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre

Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month. No Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
Zela Margossian

​Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month.

Kiri Koubaroulis, from Cultural Omnivore, is leading the four-part music series, which starts on Sunday 25 August.

"The intention is to highlight musicians from Canterbury-Bankstown, particularly those who have never played here before," she said.

"What ties the series together is the genre of ‘art music’ and the fact we are highlighting culturally diverse artists and non-western music.

"With Canterbury-Bankstown being one of the most culturally diverse area in Sydney, we saw this music was very relevant to the local community.

"We then applied for funding to the Australia Council for the Arts and were successful, so we’re now able to realise these concerts and pay artists at professional rates.

"All too often artists, especially musicians, are reliant on ticket sales or a door split deal of some sort to be paid, which means their talent and years of experience are undervalued."

The first concert will be a performance by Zela Margossian Quintet, whose music is described as ‘Armenian folk-jazz’.

Other performances will include:

  • Iraqi Folk Fusion Ensemble – Sunday 29 September (5-6pm); 
  • Satsuki Odamura Koto Ensemble – Sunday 27 October (5-6pm); and 
  • Ustad Sayd And Ali Sarshar Afghan – Indian Ensemble – Sunday 24 November 5-6pm).

Each concert is followed by a 20 minute question and answer session with the artist.

Tickets are $15 for adults and $10 concession. For more information, or to book, visit cb.city/soundlands


 7/08/2019 10:29 AM