SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre

Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month. No Soundlands is centre stage at Bankstown Arts Centre Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
Zela Margossian

​Art music concerts, highlighting culturally diverse musicians and their music from Bankstown and beyond, will be staged at Bankstown Arts Centre this month.

Kiri Koubaroulis, from Cultural Omnivore, is leading the four-part music series, which starts on Sunday 25 August.

"The intention is to highlight musicians from Canterbury-Bankstown, particularly those who have never played here before," she said.

"What ties the series together is the genre of ‘art music’ and the fact we are highlighting culturally diverse artists and non-western music.

"With Canterbury-Bankstown being one of the most culturally diverse area in Sydney, we saw this music was very relevant to the local community.

"We then applied for funding to the Australia Council for the Arts and were successful, so we’re now able to realise these concerts and pay artists at professional rates.

"All too often artists, especially musicians, are reliant on ticket sales or a door split deal of some sort to be paid, which means their talent and years of experience are undervalued."

The first concert will be a performance by Zela Margossian Quintet, whose music is described as ‘Armenian folk-jazz’.

Other performances will include:

  • Iraqi Folk Fusion Ensemble – Sunday 29 September (5-6pm); 
  • Satsuki Odamura Koto Ensemble – Sunday 27 October (5-6pm); and 
  • Ustad Sayd And Ali Sarshar Afghan – Indian Ensemble – Sunday 24 November 5-6pm).

Each concert is followed by a 20 minute question and answer session with the artist.

Tickets are $15 for adults and $10 concession. For more information, or to book, visit cb.city/soundlands


 7/08/2019 10:29 AM