SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Small Business Month

Small Business Month Businesses in Canterbury-Bankstown are being encouraged to become ‘disruption ready’, as part of NSW Small Business Month. No Small Business Month Businesses in Canterbury-Bankstown are being encouraged to become ‘disruption ready’, as part of NSW Small Business Month. News Columns; News and Updates
Person making coffee

Businesses in Canterbury-Bankstown are being encouraged to become ‘disruption ready’, as part of NSW Small Business Month.

Mayor Khal Asfour said this means having a plan in place to cope with disruptions caused by natural disasters, such as floods, storms, bushfires, heatwaves and other emergencies.

“During an emergency, your business may be unable to operate and generate revenue, but fixed costs will still need to be paid regardless,” he said.

“You think it will never happen to your business, until it does. But the reality is, every year, businesses across the state are impacted.

“In Canterbury-Bankstown, we have had a number of flash floods and heatwave conditions, which have impacted hundreds of businesses. So being prepared can mean the difference between your business re-opening after a disaster or remaining closed.”

There are more than 33,000 businesses in Canterbury-Bankstown, employing in excess of 118,000 people, and contributing to the eighth largest economy in NSW, with a gross regional product of $14.48 billion.

“Small Business Month is dedicated to promoting and celebrating the success of small businesses and recognising the important role they play in the economy,” Mayor Asfour said.

“One of our City’s most valuable industries is manufacturing which continues to go through a period of transformation.

“On Thursday 24 October, we’ve partnered with Blacktown City Council and Sydney Motor Sport to host the Symposium on Advanced Manufacturing, so local businesses can network together and experts can discuss how the industry can be lifted to new heights.

“I encourage all small business owners to attend because you are guaranteed to gain a new perspective on your own business.”

To download the free Get Ready Business toolkit, visit emergency.nsw.gov.au/getready/business

For more information about the symposium and other Small Business Month events being held in Canterbury-Bankstown, visit cb.city/businessevents


 13/11/2019 3:57 PM