SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Residents urged to have say on waste services

Residents urged to have say on waste services Residents are being encouraged to take a direct interest in the future of waste services in Canterbury-Bankstown, and have a chance of winning an iPad in the process. No  

Residents are being encouraged to take a direct interest in the future of waste services in Canterbury-Bankstown, and have a chance of winning an iPad in the process.

Until Friday 10 May, residents can share their thoughts on household waste and recycling services, with questions seeking to find out:

  • What’s important to them;
  • What they do with waste inside the house;
  • What they do with their bins; and
  • What and how they want to hear from Council.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the management of waste and recycling is one of the biggest challenges facing the world, including Australia.

"If we can’t manage the collection, recycling and disposal of waste better, I’d hate to see the consequences," he said.

"We need leadership at the state and federal level. There needs to be a consistent approach, so that councils and local communities are not left to fend for themselves.

"However, one thing councils can control is how waste and recycling services are delivered at the street level and the Future of Waste and You survey will greatly assist us to better understand the views of our residents on waste."

On average, Council collects more than 80,000 tonnes of waste each year.

"That’s 40,000 bins every day, 200,000 a week and 10,400,000 a year," Mayor Asfour said.

In addition, Council collects:

  • Collects 25,000 tonnes of recycling;
  • Collects 23,000 tonnes of green waste;
  • Cleans up around 2,500 tonnes of dumped rubbish; and
  • Collects about 10,750 tonnes through its clean-up booking service.

For more information email haveyoursay@cbcity.nsw.gov.au, or to complete the survey, visit cb.city/haveyoursay


 9/07/2019 3:24 PM