SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Recycle your unwanted mattress correctly

Recycle your unwanted mattress correctly More than 1,240 mattresses have been collected and recycled from homes in Canterbury-Bankstown since July this year, as part of Council’s Booked Clean Up service. No Recycle your unwanted mattress correctly More than 1,240 mattresses have been collected and recycled from homes in Canterbury-Bankstown since July this year, as part of Council’s Booked Clean Up service. News Columns; News and Updates
Mattress disposal

More than 1,240 mattresses have been collected and recycled from homes in Canterbury-Bankstown since July this year, as part of Council’s Booked Clean Up service.

Mayor Khal Asfour said about 1.25 million mattresses end up in landfill across Australia each year.

“And in Canterbury-Bankstown, more than 3,500 were collected and recycled last year,” he said.

“Once collected, the mattresses are processed by our contractors Veolia and JWS, who put them through a series of processes to separate and recycle materials.”

Some of the mattress materials that can be recycled include:

  • Timber – processed into mulch and compost;
  • Springs – are separated using magnets and sent to scrap dealers, where they can end up being used in buildings and infrastructure, vehicles and appliances; and
  • Textiles and foam – converted to an engineered fuel.

“The success of this service is a timely reminder for residents to do the right thing,” Mayor Asfour said.

“If people put their mattresses out with their scheduled booked clean-up, it means we can collect them more efficiently.

“It’s all part of our commitment to making our City more clean and green, which is an expectation of the community.

“But we can’t do it alone. We need everyone to play their part in caring for the environment, which means being informed about correct recycling practices.”

For more information, or to book a household clean-up, visit cb.city/cleanup


 13/11/2019 3:56 PM