SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Plan set to transform streets

Plan set to transform streets A plan to transform the streets of Bankstown was given the green light overnight. No Plan set to transform streets A plan to transform the streets of Bankstown was given the green light overnight. News Columns; News and Updates
Complete streets in Bankstown

​​A plan to transform the streets of Bankstown was given the green light overnight.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the Bankstown Complete Streets Transport and Place Plan will guide street and transport upgrades in Bankstown’s CBD, over the next 20 years.

“This plan will change how traffic moves through the City centre, and create an even better experience for pedestrians, cyclists and motorists alike,” he said.

“Businesses will also benefit from more pedestrian activity and our CBD will be greener, with cooler streets and less vehicle emissions.”

The plan provides:

12 principles to guide the design of streets, relating to integration, safety, culture and design excellence;

10 strategies for minimising traffic through the CBD, simplifying bus routes, connecting cycle links and creating a cultural trail to link different areas;

A master plan determining the function of each street, and identifying bike and bus routes and key parking stations;

Concept plans and perspectives for each street, to illustrate their potential transformation, with wider footpaths, street trees, cycle lanes and seating; and

A prioritised action plan to deliver the proposed transformations and upgrades.

Mayor Asfour said work will begin shortly on a number of key priorities, which will be completed over the next two years.

“One of the first things we’ll do is create a detailed design to transform the streetscape of The Appian Way,” he said.

“This will include converting the one-way busy street into a two-way shared zone, re-routing buses, planting additional trees, installing more seating and providing three-phase power to support future street events.”

“Other priorities include implementing smart technologies in our car parks, creating a peak hour clearway, and writing a public domain and streetscape design manual.”

To view the Bankstown Complete Streets master plan, visit cb.city/completestreets


 10/01/2020 11:21 AM