SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Pedestrian safety improved

Pedestrian safety improved Three intersections in Canterbury-Bankstown are set to be upgraded over the next 12 months. No  

Three intersections in Canterbury-Bankstown are set to be upgraded over the next 12 months.

Council has secured two grants, worth almost $700,000, to improve pedestrian and motorist safety in the City.

The grants enable Council to:

  • Install raised islands with pedestrian gaps, No Stopping signage and yellow line marking in Hunter Street, Condell Park, at the intersections with Marion and Augusta Streets;
  • Convert an existing pedestrian crossing at Greenfield Parade, Bankstown (in front of the sports club), to a raised pedestrian crossing; and
  • Convert the existing marked pedestrian crossing in the slip lane to a traffic signal-controlled pedestrian crossing at the intersection of Greenfield Parade and Restwell Street, with pedestrian fencing along the kerb.

Roads and Maritime Services statistics show that pedestrians were involved in seven out of 10 injury accidents reported on Greenfield Parade, between July 2011 and June 2016.

Mayor Khal Asfour said it’s important for drivers and pedestrians to be vigilant on local roads.

"The improvements we are looking to introduce will help but, in the end, it comes down to both motorists and pedestrians acting responsibly," he said.

"In the event of a crash, pedestrians have little or no protection to shield them from the force of an impact. Therefore, pedestrian-related incidents often result in severe injuries, even death.

"It’s also important for pedestrians to never assume a driver has seen them or intends to stop and to never cross a road while using headphones or mobile phones."


 11/12/2018 10:05 AM