SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Pedestrian safety improved

Pedestrian safety improved Three intersections in Canterbury-Bankstown are set to be upgraded over the next 12 months. No  

Three intersections in Canterbury-Bankstown are set to be upgraded over the next 12 months.

Council has secured two grants, worth almost $700,000, to improve pedestrian and motorist safety in the City.

The grants enable Council to:

  • Install raised islands with pedestrian gaps, No Stopping signage and yellow line marking in Hunter Street, Condell Park, at the intersections with Marion and Augusta Streets;
  • Convert an existing pedestrian crossing at Greenfield Parade, Bankstown (in front of the sports club), to a raised pedestrian crossing; and
  • Convert the existing marked pedestrian crossing in the slip lane to a traffic signal-controlled pedestrian crossing at the intersection of Greenfield Parade and Restwell Street, with pedestrian fencing along the kerb.

Roads and Maritime Services statistics show that pedestrians were involved in seven out of 10 injury accidents reported on Greenfield Parade, between July 2011 and June 2016.

Mayor Khal Asfour said it’s important for drivers and pedestrians to be vigilant on local roads.

"The improvements we are looking to introduce will help but, in the end, it comes down to both motorists and pedestrians acting responsibly," he said.

"In the event of a crash, pedestrians have little or no protection to shield them from the force of an impact. Therefore, pedestrian-related incidents often result in severe injuries, even death.

"It’s also important for pedestrians to never assume a driver has seen them or intends to stop and to never cross a road while using headphones or mobile phones."


 11/12/2018 10:05 AM