SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Parks and precincts get go ahead

Parks and precincts get go ahead A number of parks and precincts in Canterbury-Bankstown are one-step closer to undergoing major improvements, with Council overnight approving plans to help guide future development. No  

A number of parks and precincts in Canterbury-Bankstown are one-step closer to undergoing major improvements, with Council overnight approving plans to help guide future development.

The Plan of Management (PoM) for Deepwater Park and Kelso Parklands drew significant community interest, with more than 100 submissions received.

Mayor Khal Asfour said a major element of the PoM was determining the future use of the former Panania Bowling Club site.

"The PoM will see a change in the land categorisation from ‘sportsground’ to ‘general community use’,” he said. “This will allow for a broader range of community-based activities, unlike before when it was specifically just for sporting uses, and enable us to seek expressions of interest (EOI).”

The PoM covers seven recreational areas - Deepwater Park, Kelso Park (north), Kelso Park (south), Marco Reserve, Kelso Beach Reserve, Killara Reserve and Horsley Reserve.

The next steps include an EOI process conducted for the former bowling club site, and additional planning for sporting field layouts at Kelso Park and Marco Reserve.

Mayor Asfour said there were also plans for Belmore Sports and Recreation Precinct.

“This is a 20-year plan for the future of the Belmore Sports Facility Review,” he said.

 

“It’s clear from the submissions received, the community’s vision is to transform the heart of Belmore, with the park opening up to the neighbourhood, with space for people to play, relax and celebrate not only on NRL game day, but every day.”

Masterplan highlights include:

  • The potential establishment of a new playground and cafe;
  • The potential establishment of a new community hub;
  • Improved safety around the site;
  • Improved cycling and walking paths; and
  • Better connections between Belmore and Campsie Railway Stations.

 27/03/2019 1:45 PM