SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Padstow celebrates 60th anniversary

Padstow celebrates 60th anniversary The 17th of October marks the 60th birthday of one of Canterbury-Bankstown’s most popular
Library and Knowledge Centres - Padstow. No Padstow celebrates 60th anniversary The 17th of October marks the 60th birthday of one of Canterbury-Bankstown’s most popular News Columns; News and Updates
Padstow Library and Knowledge Centre

The 17th of October marks the 60th birthday of one of Canterbury-Bankstown’s most popular Library and Knowledge Centres - Padstow.

Mayor Khal Asfour said thousands of local residents have visited the library over the past six decades.

“Padstow was officially opened, along with the adjacent baby health centre, on 17 October 1959, by then Mayor Carl Little,” he said.

“It was Bankstown’s third branch to open, following Chester Hill in 1958 and Bankstown in 1954, and was designed by England and Marshall Architects.

“When it opened, it boasted a 9,000-book collection, with 1,656 resources borrowed on the first day!

“By the end of the first month, more than half the collection had been borrowed by local residents.”

Padstow Heights residents Eric Drysdale and Norma Smith have been visiting the library every week for more than 20 years.

“Norma, who actually turns 85 on the 17th of October, became a member in 1963,” Mr Drysdale said.

“We keep a spreadsheet to keep track of how many books we read. Normally we read about three books a week and more than 100 a year.

“Over the years, we’ve developed good relationships with the staff. They are helpful and accommodating, and make visiting the library an enjoyable experience.”

Mayor Asfour said the City’s Library and Knowledge Centres remain important to local communities.

“eResources are now the most popular resources to borrow for residents, and the Library and Knowledge Centres themselves have become community meeting places,” he said.

“By the end of 2018-19, we had a total of 104,134 members, up 9,522 on 2017-18, including 5,803 at Padstow.”

A day of celebrations will be held at Padstow Library and Knowledge Centre on 17 October.

For more information, call 9707 9747, or visit cb.city/libraries


 13/11/2019 3:57 PM