SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

New rain garden protects river

New rain garden protects river Work has started on an innovative rain garden at Hurlstone Park, on the banks of the Cooks River, to help keep the river clean by removing harmful pollutants from stormwater. No New rain garden protects river Work has started on an innovative rain garden at Hurlstone Park, on the banks of the Cooks River, to help keep the river clean by removing harmful pollutants from stormwater. News Columns; News and Updates
Cooks River

Work has started on an innovative rain garden at Hurlstone Park, on the banks of the Cooks River, to help keep the river clean by removing harmful pollutants from stormwater.

Mayor Khal Asfour said stormwater carries pollutants, such as oils, sediments, heavy metals and grease, which can harm the natural environment and aquatic life.

"Heavily urbanised areas can create a range of issues, including increased flooding, pollution from motor vehicles, litter and sewage," he said.

"These often find their way into waterways.

"By directing runoff through the new rain garden at Foord Avenue, Hurlstone Park, we can further protect the health of the Cooks River.

"On completion, stormwater will run into this rain garden and be filtered through specialised layers of soil, removing litter and other pollution."

The rain garden, which is being constructed using funding from the Stormwater Levy, will also:

  • Protect aquatic habitats for marine life and birds;
  • Improve water quality by removing pollutants before entering the Cooks River;
  • Maximise the visual amenity of the waterway;
  • Control bank erosion; and
  • Reduce urban heat island effect.

City of Canterbury Bankstown, as part of its partnership with the Cooks River Alliance, protects more than 100 square kilometres of the Cooks River catchment, which is surrounded by in excess of 400,000 residents, and 100,000 commercial and industrial premises.


 8/01/2020 3:43 PM