SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

New Deputy Mayor Appointed

New Deputy Mayor Appointed ​Clare Raffan has been elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, replacing Nadia Saleh. No  

​Clare Raffan has been elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, replacing Nadia Saleh.

Councillor Raffan, who will hold the position for the next 12 months, defeated Philip Madirazza eight votes to four (Glen Waud and Linda Downey were absent and Linda Eisler abstained).
“I am really proud and it is a great honour to be elected Deputy Mayor of this Council. It is an exciting Council and a fantastic one to be a part of,” Councillor Raffan said.
“I am thrilled to be working alongside Mayor Asfour, General Manager Matthew Stewart, the Executive leadership team and with my fellow Councillors, who all come together to represent the community really well.”
Councillor Raffan also acknowledged outgoing Deputy Mayor, Councillor Nadia Saleh.
“All the effort and energy she has put in is extremely honourable and I congratulate her on her grace, calmness and generosity,” Councillor Raffan said.
“I hope I can fill her place with as much dedication and effort that she has presented in the Deputy Mayor’s role.”
Mayor Asfour congratulated Councillor Raffan on her appointment.
“Last night marked a new chapter for our City and I look forward to working with Councillor Raffan, as we continue to improve the level of service the community has come to expect and deserves,” he said.
“Councillor Raffan is a strong advocate for our community and I have no doubt she will continue the good work carried out by Councillor Saleh.
“Councillor Saleh has and continues to be a huge advocate for women, refugees, and migrants in Canterbury-Bankstown.
“I would like to thank her for her support and hard work. We certainly made a strong leadership team and I am confident that will continue with Councillor Raffan, as we continue to deliver an ambitious $91 million Capital Works program in 2018-19.”

 26/09/2018 11:11 AM