SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Native Plant Guide

Native Plant Guide Residents now have a guide to help them decide which native plants are best for their local gardens. No  

Residents now have a guide to help them decide which native plants are best for their local gardens.

The Native Plant Guide was launched this week by the City of Canterbury Bankstown and is now available free-of-charge.

Mayor Khal Asfour said Council regularly offers free native plant seedlings to residents and schools during the year, however next month’s giveaway will be different.

"We’ll not only be providing free native plants but also the first printed edition of the guide," he said.

"We will also host a talk to help local residents include native plants in their gardens and hold a number of information sessions."

The Your Native Garden talk will be held on Thursday 4 April (10-11am), at Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre. Native plants will also be available for collection from 6-12 April at Bankstown, Campsie, Greenacre and Panania Library and Knowledge Centres.

"Our local area is home to a wide variety of native plants and animals and the gardens of local residents are important habitats for them," Mayor Asfour said.

"By including native plants, residents can play a direct role in protecting our environment."

Councillor Linda Eisler, who chairs Council’s Environmental Sustainability Advisory Committee, said she was excited about the guide.

"I wish I had something like this when I started my garden because it gives residents who don’t know a lot about native plants an idea on what they can use in their garden," she said.

"No matter what size their garden is, whether they have a sunny or shady spot, or if they want to attract birds or frogs, the guide covers every aspect to create the type of native garden they want to build."

The next stage of the project involves the creation of an interactive plant selector map on Council’s website, where residents will be able to search for the native plants which grow best in their particular suburb. This will be launched later this year.

To learn more and view the guide, visit cb.city/nativeplants


 29/05/2019 4:05 PM