SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Native Plant Guide

Native Plant Guide Residents now have a guide to help them decide which native plants are best for their local gardens. No  

Residents now have a guide to help them decide which native plants are best for their local gardens.

The Native Plant Guide was launched this week by the City of Canterbury Bankstown and is now available free-of-charge.

Mayor Khal Asfour said Council regularly offers free native plant seedlings to residents and schools during the year, however next month’s giveaway will be different.

"We’ll not only be providing free native plants but also the first printed edition of the guide," he said.

"We will also host a talk to help local residents include native plants in their gardens and hold a number of information sessions."

The Your Native Garden talk will be held on Thursday 4 April (10-11am), at Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre. Native plants will also be available for collection from 6-12 April at Bankstown, Campsie, Greenacre and Panania Library and Knowledge Centres.

"Our local area is home to a wide variety of native plants and animals and the gardens of local residents are important habitats for them," Mayor Asfour said.

"By including native plants, residents can play a direct role in protecting our environment."

Councillor Linda Eisler, who chairs Council’s Environmental Sustainability Advisory Committee, said she was excited about the guide.

"I wish I had something like this when I started my garden because it gives residents who don’t know a lot about native plants an idea on what they can use in their garden," she said.

"No matter what size their garden is, whether they have a sunny or shady spot, or if they want to attract birds or frogs, the guide covers every aspect to create the type of native garden they want to build."

The next stage of the project involves the creation of an interactive plant selector map on Council’s website, where residents will be able to search for the native plants which grow best in their particular suburb. This will be launched later this year.

To learn more and view the guide, visit cb.city/nativeplants


 29/05/2019 4:05 PM