SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Mayor fights bank closure

Mayor fights bank closure The Mayor of Canterbury-Bankstown has called on the major banks to put people ahead of profits, after news a third branch is set to close in the City in just 12 months. No Mayor fights bank closure The Mayor of Canterbury-Bankstown has called on the major banks to put people ahead of profits, after news a third branch is set to close in the City in just 12 months. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
Belmore Town Centre

 

The Mayor of Canterbury-Bankstown has called on the major banks to put people ahead of profits, after news a third branch is set to close in the City in just 12 months.
Commonwealth Bank has revealed it intends closing the doors of its Condell Park branch on 30 August, less than a year after it did the same at Belmore.
“I can’t believe it, CBA is looking to abandon yet another of our local communities,” Mayor Khal Asfour said.
“It appears the bank sees this purely as an economic decision, what about our residents?”
According to the latest Census, almost 10 per cent of Condell Park’s population consists of residents aged 70 or older.
“From speaking with residents, I know many of our seniors and people with disability don’t use internet banking,” Mayor Asfour said.
“Seniors and people with disability, in particular, are going to struggle to travel to Bankstown or Revesby (the closest CBA branches), to do their face-to-face banking.
“Once again, I am calling on CBA’s Chief Executive, Matt Comyn, to show his bank really does care. He needs to repay the loyalty of its customers and workers, by genuinely listening to them, rather than act in ways which indicate it cares more about profits than people.”
Mayor Asfour encouraged concerned residents to also make their voices heard, by calling Commonwealth Bank on 13 22 21.
In May, ANZ also closed a local branch at Chester Hill.

 19/09/2019 9:54 AM