SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Masterchef takes centre stage at Bites

Masterchef takes centre stage at Bites A celebrity MasterChef will headline popular bespoke food festival, Bankstown Bites, in July. No  

A celebrity MasterChef will headline popular bespoke food festival, Bankstown Bites, in July.

Matt Sinclair, who finished runner-up in the eighth season of MasterChef Australia, is set to cook up a storm, when he takes to the main kitchen at the festival on Saturday 27 July.

Mr Sinclair praised CBCity for influencing his love for ethnic cuisines.

"It was a huge influence. Going to the food outlets and markets - it was a very real experience. There are so many authentic ethnic cuisines that you can’t get in so many other places," Mr Sinclair said.

"Mum used to do most of her grocery shopping there (Bankstown) as there were a lot of great fresh markets which she loved. I would go along with her and we’d stop for yum cha or a small Lebanese cafe and always pick up something a bit different to try at home."

Since his appearance on MasterChef, Mr Sinclair has gone on to open his own restaurant with three mates, called Sum Yung Guys, has his own Cooking show on Channel 10 called The Cooks Pantry, and was a mentor on the latest season of MasterChef.

While his career has taken him all around the world, the talented chef hails from the neighbouring Sutherland Shire.

City of Canterbury Bankstown Mayor Khal Asfour welcomed Mr Sinclair’s involvement in the 15th edition of Bites.

"Our event is well and truly entrenched on any serious foodie’s calendar," he said.

"We traditionally attract more than 10,000 people each year and they travel from far and wide to experience the different tastes of the world in one place in Bankstown.

This year’s festival will also include:

  • Longer food tours which take visitors on a journey, seeking out the hidden food treasures in Bankstown;
  • A special wine bar area for adults; and
  • An arts market at Bankstown Arts Centre.

Stallholders interested in featuring at Bankstown Bites are encouraged to complete an application form at cb.city/bankstownbites or email brittney.mclennan@cbcity.nsw.gov.au

This year’s Bankstown Bites will be held on Saturday 27 July, at Olympic Parade, Bankstown, from 10am-5pm.


 7/08/2019 10:13 AM