SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Local students recognised

Local students recognised Dozens of students from Canterbury-Bankstown have been recognised for their
achievements and passion for science. No Local students recognised Dozens of students from Canterbury-Bankstown have been recognised for their News Columns; News and Updates
Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre

Dozens of students from Canterbury-Bankstown have been recognised for their achievements and passion for science.

Forty-three Year 11 students, from 27 local schools, were presented with Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute School Science Awards today, in a ceremony at Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre.

“A career in science can be hugely fulfilling and it is great to see so many local students with such a passion,” said Mayor Khal Asfour, who presented the awards, along with Professor Sally Dunwoodie from Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute.

“Science is about trying to understand and solve problems, big and small.

“The best part is that it allows people to make discoveries and share that new knowledge with the world, which can improve the lives of not only local residents, but society as a whole.”

The annual awards are named after the late cardiac surgeon and pioneer of modern heart transplantation, Dr Victor Chang, who grew up in Campsie and attended school in Belmore.

Professor Dunwoodie believes by guiding and encouraging students to consider a career in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics, the legacy of Dr Chang lives on.

“By nurturing these inquisitive scientific minds, we are cementing a strong future for Australian research,” she said.

“We have such a proud history of discovery and it’s through students like these, that the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics will continue to flourish in Australia.

“As a scientist, you not only contribute to building knowledge and understanding, but you’re also a driver in economic, environmental, health, social and technological advances. The opportunities are truly endless.”


 4/12/2019 10:36 AM