SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Is dancing and performing in your DNA?

Is dancing and performing in your DNA? So you think you can dance? Why not sign-up to the DNA Project, which is a 10-week program for people with all levels of ability, to explore the wide and varied world of dance, movement and theatre? No Is dancing and performing in your DNA? So you think you can dance? Why not sign-up to the DNA Project, which is a 10-week program for people with all levels of ability, to explore the wide and varied world of dance, movement and theatre? News and Updates; Media Releases
Arts Centre

So you think you can dance? Why not sign-up to the DNA Project, which is a 10-week program for people with all levels of ability, to explore the wide and varied world of dance, movement and theatre?

Weekly classes will take place at Bankstown Arts Centre on Thursdays, from 10am to midday, and are open to all local residents 16 years and over.

Teaching Artist, Tania Rose, said it was an opportunity for residents to explore the varied world of dance theatre.

"The class aims is to extend beyond a typical "dance" class and will be more about encouraging students to direct and create their own works," she said.

"They won’t just be incorporating movement, but conceptual ideas, sound and other means of creative expression."

Ms Rose, who co-founded Restless Dance Theatre, Australia’s leading dance company working with people with and without disability over the past 25 years, said the DNA Project was a new pilot program they were trialling.

"This course is very much about exploration and facilitating the students to find their own ways to express their creativity," she said.

"Hopefully it is something we can roll out across other council areas throughout Sydney."

Mayor Khal Asfour said the program is another example of Council’s support for people with disability.

"We have more than 23,000 residents who need help in their day-to-day lives due to disability, almost seven per cent of our population," he said.

"It is great that we can offer programs like the DNA Project to the community which provides creative opportunities to people of all abilities."

The 10-week class costs $100. For more information, visit cb.city/artscentre


 23/08/2019 9:34 AM