SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

IPART recommends further cost shifting

IPART recommends further cost shifting City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils. No IPART recommends further cost shifting City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils. News and Updates; Media Releases
Finance graph

​City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the cost of such a decision would be significant for ratepayers, including in Canterbury-Bankstown.

"It would be an extra $900,000 for our City," he said.

"This is not a cost councils can simply meet, particularly when the NSW and Federal Governments are reducing funding to councils, yet requiring them to do more of their work."

IPART is claiming the move, which it suggests should be introduced in time for the 2020 local government elections, would save the NSW Electoral Commission around $2.6 million.

"It’s just another case of cost shifting," Mayor Asfour said.

"On top of that, IPART is suggesting the cost of the NSW Electoral Commission holding elections for councils be passed onto ratepayers in full and, yet also acknowledges there are barriers preventing private companies from providing the service.

"It’s simply not a competitive market and it admits it, yet it’s proposing measures be introduced to increase competition after the 2020 election, which is only just over a year away.

"In the meantime, ratepayers are expected to wear the bill."

City of Canterbury Bankstown is finalising its submission to meet the IPART deadline for public feedback of Friday 19 July 2019.

"We believe the Government should defer passing on the increase until at least 2024, when IPART is indicating the NSW Electoral Commission will no longer have a monopoly," Mayor Asfour said.

"It just makes more sense to do it that way."


 11/09/2019 3:59 PM