SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

IPART recommends further cost shifting

IPART recommends further cost shifting City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils. No IPART recommends further cost shifting City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils. News and Updates; Media Releases
Finance graph

​City of Canterbury Bankstown has questioned the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal’s recommendation, to shift the entire cost of running local government elections to councils.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the cost of such a decision would be significant for ratepayers, including in Canterbury-Bankstown.

"It would be an extra $900,000 for our City," he said.

"This is not a cost councils can simply meet, particularly when the NSW and Federal Governments are reducing funding to councils, yet requiring them to do more of their work."

IPART is claiming the move, which it suggests should be introduced in time for the 2020 local government elections, would save the NSW Electoral Commission around $2.6 million.

"It’s just another case of cost shifting," Mayor Asfour said.

"On top of that, IPART is suggesting the cost of the NSW Electoral Commission holding elections for councils be passed onto ratepayers in full and, yet also acknowledges there are barriers preventing private companies from providing the service.

"It’s simply not a competitive market and it admits it, yet it’s proposing measures be introduced to increase competition after the 2020 election, which is only just over a year away.

"In the meantime, ratepayers are expected to wear the bill."

City of Canterbury Bankstown is finalising its submission to meet the IPART deadline for public feedback of Friday 19 July 2019.

"We believe the Government should defer passing on the increase until at least 2024, when IPART is indicating the NSW Electoral Commission will no longer have a monopoly," Mayor Asfour said.

"It just makes more sense to do it that way."


 11/09/2019 3:59 PM