SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Community Safety Expohttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-safety-expoCommunity Safety Expo2019-10-14T13:00:00Z
Pawsome activities at Pet's Day Outhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/pawsome-activities-at-pets-day-outPawsome activities at Pet's Day Out2019-10-14T13:00:00Z
Crackdown on illegal truck parkinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/crackdown-on-illegal-truck-parkingCrackdown on illegal truck parking2019-10-14T13:00:00Z
Crime continues to fallhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/crime-continues-to-fallCrime continues to fall2019-10-07T13:00:00Z
Padstow celebrates 60th anniversaryhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/padstow-celebrates-60th-anniversaryPadstow celebrates 60th anniversary2019-10-07T13:00:00Z
Nominations open for Youth Awardshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/nominations-open-for-youth-awardsNominations open for Youth Awards2019-10-07T13:00:00Z
Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z

Investigation into vandalism

Investigation into vandalism An investigation is underway into the vandalism of 10 bus shelters in Canterbury-Bankstown. No  

​An investigation is underway into the vandalism of 10 bus shelters in Canterbury-Bankstown.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the attacks occurred over a two-week period in October and November alone.

"Bankstown, Georges Hall and Yagoona seem to be the hotspots, so I ask people in those areas in particular to be on the lookout," he said.

"It’s disgusting that some people get their kicks out of destroying property, which is actually installed to help members of their own family.

"These shelters are installed on busy bus routes to protect families, the elderly and people with disability from the weather.

"In one careless and thoughtless act, the vandals are impacting dozens of people.

"So, I am calling on residents to help with our investigation. If they saw or know of any information relating to these crimes, please call the Police."

The Mayor’s plea has been supported by NSW Police.

"Details provided by witnesses are often what we need to find those responsible for vandalism," said Bankstown Police crime coordinator, Senior Sergeant Helen Beileiter.

"We urge anyone who has information on bus shelter vandalism to contact us."

Residents can call Bankstown (9783 2199), Campsie (9784 9399) or Burwood (9745 8499) Police.

Damaged shelters can be reported to Adshel on 1800 501 402, so repairs can be scheduled.


 12/02/2019 9:50 AM