SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Investigation into vandalism

Investigation into vandalism An investigation is underway into the vandalism of 10 bus shelters in Canterbury-Bankstown. No  

​An investigation is underway into the vandalism of 10 bus shelters in Canterbury-Bankstown.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the attacks occurred over a two-week period in October and November alone.

"Bankstown, Georges Hall and Yagoona seem to be the hotspots, so I ask people in those areas in particular to be on the lookout," he said.

"It’s disgusting that some people get their kicks out of destroying property, which is actually installed to help members of their own family.

"These shelters are installed on busy bus routes to protect families, the elderly and people with disability from the weather.

"In one careless and thoughtless act, the vandals are impacting dozens of people.

"So, I am calling on residents to help with our investigation. If they saw or know of any information relating to these crimes, please call the Police."

The Mayor’s plea has been supported by NSW Police.

"Details provided by witnesses are often what we need to find those responsible for vandalism," said Bankstown Police crime coordinator, Senior Sergeant Helen Beileiter.

"We urge anyone who has information on bus shelter vandalism to contact us."

Residents can call Bankstown (9783 2199), Campsie (9784 9399) or Burwood (9745 8499) Police.

Damaged shelters can be reported to Adshel on 1800 501 402, so repairs can be scheduled.


 12/02/2019 9:50 AM