SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

First twilight Australia Day event

First twilight Australia Day event Belmore Oval, the home of the Bulldogs, will be the venue for Canterbury-Bankstown’s first twilight Australia Day event. No  

Belmore Oval, the home of the Bulldogs, will be the venue for Canterbury-Bankstown’s first twilight Australia Day event.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the event will be held from 6-9.30pm, and include great food, children’s activities and carnival rides, entertainment and a spectacular fireworks display.

“The overwhelming majority, 91 per cent, of residents who took part in a survey told us they spend Australia Day at home with family, or at a friend’s barbecue, but would attend a local night event if there was one,” he said.

“So that’s exactly what we’re going to provide.

Headlining the event will be UK-born singer and songwriter and The Voice 2017 semi-finalist, Spencer Jones.

“I’ll be performing some great Aussie classics, as well as a few surprises,” Jones said.

“Two of my favourite things about Australia are its inclusiveness and multiculturalism – and Canterbury-Bankstown is really big on both those things.

“My wife was born at Canterbury Hospital, we have a lot of friends in the area and we love the food in the City, so Canterbury-Bankstown has a special place in my heart.

“I can’t wait to finally perform here. It will be a pleasure to look into the crowd and see such a diverse audience celebrating as one.”

The event promises to have something for everyone to enjoy, with night-long entertainment by:

  • Television personality, Scott McRae (Master of Ceremonies);
  • A performance and meet and greet with ABCKidsTV’s program, Splash Dance;
  • The Australian Blues Brothers Show;
  • Giant kangaroos;
  • Seagulls on bouncing stilts;
  • Puppets;
  • Football activities run by Bulldogs stars;
  • Cheerleading lessons with the Bulldogs cheer squad;
  • Fire performers; and
  • Dancers.

Residents will also enjoy the Sydney Harbour Bridge fireworks display on the big screen at 9pm, followed by a live fireworks display at 9.20pm.

For more information, visit cb.city/australiaday


 4/06/2019 12:16 PM