SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Fairer system to provide for more local infrastructure

Fairer system to provide for more local infrastructure Developers will now pay the same contribution whether they own a property in Canterbury or Bankstown. No Fairer system to provide for more local infrastructure Developers will now pay the same contribution whether they own a property in Canterbury or Bankstown. News Columns; News and Updates
Development project

​Developers will now pay the same contribution whether they own a property in Canterbury or Bankstown.

Overnight, Council agreed to lift Bankstown’s development contribution rate to the level already in place in Canterbury.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the move was part of Council’s continued commitment to align services across the City.

“Over the next 10 years, we estimate that more than 22,800 new dwellings will be built in Canterbury-Bankstown, resulting in more than 61,500 new residents,” he said.

“It’s the Government’s responsibility to provide the necessary infrastructure, such as new schools, hospitals, major roads and other transport services, while Council must plan for and deliver new parks, playgrounds and community facilities.”

Under the change, Council could receive an extra $12 million per year in development contributions, which will be used to improve community infrastructure.

“We deliver more than 350 projects each year and this extra money would be allocated to even more projects,” Mayor Asfour said.

“So I encourage residents to have their say on this new proposal.” 

The Draft Bankstown Local Infrastructure Contributions Plan and Canterbury Development Contributions Plan amendments will be on public exhibition in August at cb.city/haveyoursay

​Council has also approved more than $42,000 towards the protection of nine heritagelisted properties in Canterbury-Bankstown. Under its Heritage Grant Fund, grants of up to $5,000 are available to property owners, to assist them with the restoration, maintenance and upkeep of their homes.

“We recognise that heritage items need special care and attention to maintain their heritage value,” Mayor Asfour said. 

“This year, we received 15 applications and our Heritage Reference Group recommended nine be approved.”

There are more than 200 heritage-listed items in Canterbury-Bankstown.


 19/09/2019 9:54 AM