SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Even greater transparency through video recordings of Council meetings

Even greater transparency through video recordings of Council meetings Residents of Canterbury-Bankstown and the wider community will soon be able to see the City’s decision-making process in action, from the comfort of their homes. No  

Residents of Canterbury-Bankstown and the wider community will soon be able to see the City’s decision-making process in action, from the comfort of their homes.

Councillors have agreed for the video recording of the City of Canterbury Bankstown’s monthly meetings starting next year, once the necessary technology has been installed. These recordings will be placed on Council’s website the following day, where they will remain for a month.

Mayor Khal Asfour said it was another way Council is providing even greater transparency.

"We have already dramatically increased the level of community consultation, particularly when it comes to making important decisions on plans and strategies which impact thousands of residents," he said.

"As Councillors, we take our role very seriously and there is often robust debate, which more residents will now have the opportunity to witness. They will also see how their feedback helps guide the Councillors and shapes their decisions.

"The video technology will enable them to be more involved and be better informed about matters right across the City, and understand all the factors which need to be considered."

The City of Canterbury Bankstown’s meetings are held on the last Tuesday of each month and start at 6pm, at Bankstown Council Chambers (corner of Chapel Road and The Mall, Bankstown).

"With everyone leading such busy lives, it can become increasingly difficult to get to the meetings, so the video recording of the proceedings will help people to keep up to speed with what’s happening in the City," Mayor Asfour said.

"We also have a monthly CBCity News video, which is shared on Council’s Facebook page and website, where the important items considered by Council are summarised in a two-minute snapshot. It can be viewed at cb.city/news."


 26/07/2019 10:03 AM