SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Economic Development Strategy unveiled

Economic Development Strategy unveiled A new five-year plan to support Canterbury-Bankstown’s economy was released overnight for community feedback. No Economic Development Strategy unveiled A new five-year plan to support Canterbury-Bankstown’s economy was released overnight for community feedback. News and Updates; Media Releases
Bankstown Airport

A new five-year plan to support Canterbury-Bankstown’s economy was released overnight for community feedback.

Mayor Khal Asfour said Canterbury-Bankstown’s Economic Development Strategic Plan 2020-2025, will help to position CBCity as ‘Sydney’s Connected City’ and ‘Sydney’s Place of Opportunity’.

“Our vision is to promote and support our thriving city centres, continue our dynamic growth, and make real changes to create opportunities for local businesses, so we can strengthen our local economy and improve the lives of residents,” he said.

Canterbury-Bankstown has the eighth largest economy in NSW, accounting for $15.2 billion, and is made up of more than 30,700 local businesses and 118,000 jobs.

There are several key projects and initiatives which will drive change in the new plan, including:

  • Reviewing the current Canterbury-Bankstown Business Advisory Service model;
  • Establishing a careers centre in Bankstown;
  • Securing Bankstown’s CBD as the location of the new Bankstown-Lidcombe Hospital;
  • Creating partnerships with Western Sydney University to deliver a Digital Discovery Centre, potentially in its new proposed campus in Bankstown’s CBD;
  • Driving the relocation of SBS from Artarmon to Canterbury-Bankstown;
  • Developing a Night Time Economy plan; and
  • Developing an alliance with other councils to drive central transport connections.

In addition to the actions in the new plan, Council will further promote the City through major business events, such as the recent annual Western Sydney Dialogue Out There Summit. It attracted hundreds of business leaders, professionals, politicians, organisations and government representatives from throughout Sydney.

“Having the largest Council in NSW (by population), we have a responsibility to ensure Canterbury-Bankstown is heard and we have a seat at the table, when major policies and strategies impacting Western Sydney, South-Western Sydney and Central Sydney, are discussed and developed,” Mayor Asfour said.

The draft Economic Development Strategic Plan will be on public exhibition until 5pm Friday 27 September, with residents encouraged to view it and their say at cb.city/haveyoursay


 26/07/2019 11:14 AM