SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water

Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water. No Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
Water dripping on hand

The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water.

Mayor Khal Asfour said up to 27,000 litres of water is used at Kelso Management Centre each day, to suppress dust from stored materials, such as concrete, asphalt and soil, used to build infrastructure like roads and footpaths.

“By making the switch from clean water to stormwater run-off, more than $15,000 will be saved each year,” he said.

“To give you an idea of just how much we are saving, the average person uses roughly 73,000 litres of water a year. This is how much we need to use in just three days at the Kelso facility.

“This is another example where Council staff are introducing new ways to do things better and more efficiently, and continuing to protect our environment.”

Mayor Asfour said the change was the tip of the iceberg for Council when it came to watersaving initiatives.

“We are currently upgrading our stormwater harvesting systems at Sefton Golf Course and Blick Oval, Canterbury, which use treated stormwater to irrigate those two sporting facilities,” he said.

“We’re also exploring the possibility of using pond water in our street sweepers.”

For more information on Council’s water-saving initiatives, or how you can reduce the amount of water you use, visit cb.city/environment


 13/08/2019 10:30 AM