SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water

Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water. No Doing the right 'dam' thing to save water The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
Water dripping on hand

The City of Canterbury Bankstown has found a new and innovative water saving initiative, which will see it use stormwater run-off from a dam rather than drinkable water.

Mayor Khal Asfour said up to 27,000 litres of water is used at Kelso Management Centre each day, to suppress dust from stored materials, such as concrete, asphalt and soil, used to build infrastructure like roads and footpaths.

“By making the switch from clean water to stormwater run-off, more than $15,000 will be saved each year,” he said.

“To give you an idea of just how much we are saving, the average person uses roughly 73,000 litres of water a year. This is how much we need to use in just three days at the Kelso facility.

“This is another example where Council staff are introducing new ways to do things better and more efficiently, and continuing to protect our environment.”

Mayor Asfour said the change was the tip of the iceberg for Council when it came to watersaving initiatives.

“We are currently upgrading our stormwater harvesting systems at Sefton Golf Course and Blick Oval, Canterbury, which use treated stormwater to irrigate those two sporting facilities,” he said.

“We’re also exploring the possibility of using pond water in our street sweepers.”

For more information on Council’s water-saving initiatives, or how you can reduce the amount of water you use, visit cb.city/environment


 13/08/2019 10:30 AM