SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Discounted pet desexing

Discounted pet desexing For a limited time only, eligible Canterbury-Bankstown residents can get their pets desexed, microchipped and vaccinated at a heavily discounted price. No  

For a limited time only, eligible Canterbury-Bankstown residents can get their pets desexed, microchipped and vaccinated at a heavily discounted price.

The City of Canterbury Bankstown, in partnership with the RSPCA, is providing subsidised services as part of the Community Animal Welfare Scheme (CAWS), for local residents with a pension, health care or new start card.

Mayor Khal Asfour said there are many benefits in having your cat or dog desexed.

“Not only do pets live longer and healthier lives, if they’ve been desexed, it also reduces the number of strays who end up on the street,” he said.

“Unfortunately, in all major cities, a number of pets are surrendered by their owners or picked up because they are strays, placing pressure on animal care facilities.

“Programs such as CAWS give pet owners access to quality health and wellbeing services at a reduced rate, as well as helping to decrease the number of abandoned animals.”

Other health benefits associated with pet desexing, include:

  • Reduction of aggressive behaviour in male dogs;
  • Prevention of organ diseases in female dogs;
  • Reduction of interest in wandering in male cats, making it less likely for them to get lost and be involved in a road accident;
  • Increase in affection and sociability in female cats; and
  • Prevention of certain types of cancers in both cats and dogs of both sexes.

“Microchipping, registering and desexing your cat or dog is crucial to being a responsible pet owner and failure to register your pet could also result in a $330 fine,” Mayor Asfour said.

“However, it’s now easier than ever to register your pet because it can be done through Council’s Customer Service Centre or online at petregistry.nsw.gov.au”

For more information on CAWS, and to book, call the desexing hotline on 0417 223 556, any time between 9am-5pm, Monday to Friday.

CAWS prices (which include desexing, microchipping and vaccination):

  • Female cat - $50;
  • Male cat - $35;
  • Female dog - $65; and
  • Male dog - $50.

 16/07/2019 3:37 PM