SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Dangerous turtles seized

Dangerous turtles seized Quick action by the City of Canterbury Bankstown has potentially averted an environmental catastrophe. No  

Quick action by the City of Canterbury Bankstown has potentially averted an environmental catastrophe.

After receiving a tip-off, Council informed the NSW Department of Primary industries (DPI), whose officers raided a home at Milperra, seizing 90 red-eared slider turtles and two large alligator snapping turtles.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the bust should act as a warning.

“The ownership of these turtles is a problem across Sydney and their presence in our waterways is increasing right across the state, which is worrying,” Mayor Asfour said.

“They are not native to Australia and are a danger to our environment, native animals and also residents. If they get into our waterways, they will breed and compete with our native turtles.

“We’ve been working with State Government agencies to control them and are currently installing a trap at Wiley Park, and are in the process of introducing other measures.”

While investigations are continuing in the Milperra case, breaches of the Biosecurity Act attract fines up to $1 million and or three years jail.

DPI’s Deputy Director General Biosecurity, Bruce Christie, said it is an offence to keep, move, buy, sell, breed or otherwise deal with red-eared slider turtles, unless authorised.

“The two alligator snapping turtles we removed, on this occasion, weighed 8.6 and 13.7 kilograms and are considered to be extremely dangerous,” he said.

“They are capable of delivering a powerful bite which could easily amputate fingers.

“We’re constantly on the lookout for pests, diseases, weeds and contaminants, and we thank those members of the public and councils, who are true biosecurity warriors, for reporting illegally-kept animals, offered for sale online, or have been spotted in the open environment.”

Residents who spot exotic turtles, either on private or public property, should report the sighting to Council by calling 9707 9000, while residents who have an exotic turtle in their possession, should surrender it to the DPI.

For more information about surrendering an exotic turtle, visit dpi.nsw.gov.au, email biosecurity@dpi.nsw.gov.au or call 1800 680 244. For more information on the animals you can keep as pets and how to be a responsible pet owner, visit cb.city/animalsandpets


 6/11/2018 10:29 AM