SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Cyber security tips a must at Safety Expo

Cyber security tips a must at Safety Expo A cyber security expert will be providing tips at this year’s Canterbury-Bankstown Community Safety Expo, on Saturday 13 October. No  

A cyber security expert will be providing tips at this year’s Canterbury-Bankstown Community Safety Expo, on Saturday 13 October.

Mayor Khal Asfour said, according to the Australian Cyber Security Centre (ACSC), 47,000 cyber security incidents occurred in 2016-17, a 15 per cent increase from the previous year.

"The risks of having our personal information stolen, due to advances in technology, is now a common concern in society, so it’s important we try and help residents to understand the dos and don’ts," he said.

Western Sydney University’s cyber security team, along with cyber security expert, Daniel Weis, will perform live hacking demonstrations at the Expo, where they’ll show how easy it can be to have personal information stolen.

"The aim is to show people that it can happen anywhere, any time because hackers generally don’t discriminate when they want to steal something," Mr Weis said.

"I’ll be showing people how quick and easy it is to get into someone’s email in a matter of minutes and how their personal information can be compromised. What I know will be useful, is the tips and tricks I’ll go through on how to protect their identity and personal information."

"We know how important it is to be physically safe but we can sometimes forget about the threat of cyber attacks, and how damaging it can be to have our personal information stolen," Mayor Asfour said.

"This means we’re vulnerable to people hacking into social media accounts, emails and even having them worm their way into our computers, where they can steal photos and corrupt files – the worst part is, we often don’t even know when they do it."

In addition to expert tips and tricks on how to stay cyber-safe, there will be other safety demonstrations and exercises to check out on the day. They include:

  • CPR demonstrations;
  • Information stalls involving Police, Fire & Rescue NSW, NSW Ambulance, Surf Lifesaving, St John Ambulance and SES;
  • A visit from everyone’s favourite giraffe, Healthy Harold;
  • Face painting; and
  • Competitions and giveaways.

The Safety Expo will be held at Bankstown Central shopping centre (Centre Court, opposite Kmart). For more information, go to cb.city/events


 14/02/2019 9:18 AM