SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Crafty citizens have a yarn on Mondays

Crafty citizens have a yarn on Mondays A group of residents is stitching up a storm for charity while having a yarn as part of their weekly catch-up. No  

A group of residents is stitching up a storm for charity while having a yarn as part of their weekly catch-up.

The Monday Knitters Group, which has been meeting for more than a decade at Chester Hill Library and Knowledge Centre, creating hand-crafted items for those less fortunate.

Maia Lauterbach has been a member of the group for more than 10 years.

"I have formed some really great friendships and look forward to having a cuppa and chat each week," she said.

"We’ve had many members over the years. At one time we even had 12 different nationalities represented and despite some people leaving the area, they still continue to come to Monday Knitters. This includes one lady who takes two buses from Epping."

The group often knits beanies, scarves, gloves, mittens and small rugs.

"We’ve donated these items to many different charities over the years, like Loaves and Fishes, Father Chris Riley’s Youth Off The Streets and Wrap with Love," Mrs Lauterbach said.

"At the moment we have four big bags full of items that we’ve knitted and we want them to go to those who need it the most – especially coming into winter."

City of Canterbury Bankstown Mayor Khal Asfour encouraged not-for-profit and community groups who could use the items to express their interest.

"The generosity of this group is truly inspiring," he said.

"I am proud Council is able to accommodate them and dozens of other groups in community facilities."

The group meets weekly on Mondays (10am-noon) and Saturdays (9.30-11.30am) at Chester Hill Library and Knowledge Centre. Other knitting groups meet on:

  • Mondays – Padstow Library and Knowledge Centre (9am);
  • Fridays – Panania Library and Knowledge Centre (11am);
  • Fridays – Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre (10am);
  • Fridays – Riverwood Library and Knowledge Centre (10.30am-noon);
  • Fridays – Lakemba Library and Knowledge Centre (10am-noon; and
  • Fridays – Earlwood Library and Knowledge Centre (10.30am-12.30pm.)

For more information, call your local Library and Knowledge Centre.


 26/07/2019 10:02 AM