SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Crackdown on illegal truck parking

Crackdown on illegal truck parking The owners of dozens of trucks have been fined in a crackdown on illegal parking in Canterbury-Bankstown. No Crackdown on illegal truck parking The owners of dozens of trucks have been fined in a crackdown on illegal parking in Canterbury-Bankstown. News Columns; News and Updates
Truck

The owners of dozens of trucks have been fined in a crackdown on illegal parking in Canterbury-Bankstown.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the operation was launched following a number of complaints received from residents.

“Our officers conducted a 48-hour blitz over a recent weekend, targeting a number of suburbs identified by residents, namely Earlwood, Campsie, Croydon Park, Lakemba, Punchbowl and Roselands,” he said.

“The main issues were trucks illegally parked on nature strips and footpaths, and in no parking areas, causing safety issues for motorists and pedestrians.”

A total of 40 truck owners were fined, with the most occurring in Punchbowl and Campsie. Fines were also issued to the owners of 10 cars found parked illegally on the footpath.

“It’s disappointing to see so many infringement notices needed to be issued over just two days but, hopefully, as this operation continues, we will see an improvement,” Mayor Asfour said.

“If you drive a heavy vehicle, you have a responsibility to park it safely and consider the impact on others.”

Mayor Asfour warned the blitz will continue and urged residents to keep providing information.

“Our officers can’t be everywhere all the time, so it’s important residents tip us off when someone is doing the wrong thing, including trucks being parked illegally and causing safety issues,” he said.

“Our next crackdown will not be promoted, so truck owners are on notice. It could be anywhere, any time, and is likely to involve local Police.”

The fine for parking a heavy vehicle for more than one hour is $114, while the fine for parking on a path or nature strip in a built up area is $268.


 13/11/2019 3:57 PM