SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Council fights to protect community

Council fights to protect community Hundreds of residents have had their say on the City of Canterbury Bankstown’s planning proposal, to prohibit multi-dwelling housing in low density residential areas in Bankstown. No  

Hundreds of residents have had their say on the City of Canterbury Bankstown’s planning proposal, to prohibit multi-dwelling housing in low density residential areas in Bankstown.

More than 310 submissions were received, with around 90 per cent in favour of the plan to stop the NSW Government’s Medium Density Housing Code from:

  • Introducing more than 68,000 new unplanned houses for an extra 198,000 people;
  • Increasing the size and bulk of dual occupancy houses, such as manor houses, townhouses and villas;
  • Slashing the amount of open space required on individual blocks; and
  • Homes being allocated only a single off-street parking space.

Mayor Khal Asfour welcomed the community’s overwhelming support of Council’s action.

"They’re scared and we’re scared, and our concerns are justified," he said.

"The Government’s new Code, scheduled to be introduced on 1 July, will seriously impact the look and feel of our suburbs."

Council has requested a further deferral of the Code until it completes its new city-wide Local Environmental Plan, where a range of housing types will be considered in appropriate areas.

"Should that deferral not be granted, the Department of Planning will need to ensure our planning proposal amendments are approved before the Government’s Code kicks in on 1 July," Mayor Asfour said.

In a further bid to ensure consistent standards are applied to developments across Canterbury-Bankstown, Council has also made amendments to the Canterbury Development Control Plan, so it closely aligns with the Bankstown Development Control Plan. They include:

  • Ensuring there is a minimum of three hours direct sunlight between 8am-4pm;
  • Providing a minimum 25 per cent of communal open space for shop-top housing;
  • Having a minimum side setback requirement of 4.5 metres applied to buildings with a height of four storeys or more in the B5 Business Development zone; and
  • Ensuring building services such as plant rooms and hydrants are integrated into the building and landscaping.

 30/05/2019 12:12 PM