SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Child-Friendly CBCity Action Plan

Child-Friendly CBCity Action Plan Canterbury-Bankstown is on its way to becoming a child-friendly City. No Child-Friendly CBCity Action Plan Canterbury-Bankstown is on its way to becoming a child-friendly City. News Columns; News and Updates
Young boy smiling

Canterbury-Bankstown is on its way to becoming a child-friendly City.

Mayor Khal Asfour said Council has completed the first step, in meeting the UN Convention’s Rights of a Child requirements, by conducting a city-wide survey.

“The saying ‘It takes a whole village to raise a child’ could not be any more true,” he said.

“Every child has the right to grow up in a community where they feel safe and secure; have access to quality services; can play, learn and grow; and where their voice is heard.

“While official recognition would be welcome, we will always strive to have an innovative and liveable place for all, regardless of any acknowledgement, and being child-friendly is a significant part of that commitment.

“That’s why we have spent the past 12 months speaking with residents and developing our first Child-Friendly CBCity Action Plan.

Some of the key actions include:

  • Partnering with local organisations to develop new creative and social programs, that enable culturally diverse young people to share their stories, celebrate their culture and contribute to the community;
  • Expanding the annual Youth Awards program to provide opportunities for children to be recognised;
  • Providing more programs for children aged 7-11, who are too young for youth centres and too old for early childhood groups;
  • Exploring opportunities for Council to become a Creative Kids and Active Kids provider; and
  • Providing a quarterly Life after School 101 program, to assist in transition to employment.

“I encourage everybody to have a look at the plan and give their feedback by Thursday 21 November,” Mayor Asfour said.

“That feedback will then be assessed and the plan finalised for Council approval next year.”

To have your say on the draft plan, visit cb.city/haveyoursay


 28/11/2019 11:49 AM