SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

CBCity says no to domestic violence

CBCity says no to domestic violence National White Ribbon Ambassador and Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, Khal Asfour, has called on local employers to introduce paid leave for staff, who are victims of domestic violence. No  

National White Ribbon Ambassador and Mayor of the City of Canterbury Bankstown, Khal Asfour, has called on local employers to introduce paid leave for staff, who are victims of domestic violence.

Employees of the City of Canterbury Bankstown are now entitled to 10 days paid domestic violence leave.

"When somebody is suffering or experiencing family or domestic violence, they can’t just leave the issue at the door when they come to work," Mayor Asfour said.

"So, as a Council, we are acknowledging that and providing support where we can and this is one way to do that.

"We have also developed a Domestic Violence Information Pack for local employers which helps guide them in implementing similar support for their employees."

White Ribbon advocate, SarahJane Bradford, who experienced domestic violence and sexual abuse as a young girl, praised Council’s stance.

"I can’t describe enough how much this policy should be replicated in all workplaces," she said.

"To know you have the support of your workplace could mean the difference between life and death for some."

Ms Bradford was sexually abused by her biological father at eight, suffered a fractured skull at the hands of her biological mother at nine, and was physically and mentally abused the majority of her childhood.

"When I was put into foster care at nine, my life didn’t really get any better. I suffered other forms of abuse, with my foster parents telling me ‘I wasn’t worthy’ and ‘wasn’t good enough’ and ‘would never amount to anything’," she said.

In 2011, her demons got the better of her and with the intention of ending her life, overdosed on drugs. Seven years on, Ms Bradford is a registered emergency nurse, has a Masters in Education, and is getting married next year. On Thursday 22 November, she will bravely tell her story at Council’s annual White Ribbon Tug O’ War event, at the John Mackay Indoor Sports Centre.

All men from the local community, businesses, schools, community groups and organisations are encouraged to register teams of five and enter the event, by visiting cb.city/whiteribbonday


 6/11/2018 10:37 AM