SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

CBCity pitches for new SBS HQ

CBCity pitches for new SBS HQ The City of Canterbury Bankstown is ready to become the new home of the Special Broadcasting Service (SBS). No CBCity pitches for new SBS HQ The City of Canterbury Bankstown is ready to become the new home of the Special Broadcasting Service (SBS).  
CBCity pitches for new SBS HQ

The City of Canterbury Bankstown is ready to become the new home of the Special Broadcasting Service (SBS).

Mayor Khal Asfour made the announcement after Shadow Communications spokesperson, Michelle Rowland, promised to relocate SBS to Western Sydney, if the ALP wins Saturday’s election, during a visit to Bankstown today.

"Relocating SBS to CBCity would mean it has a new home in the heart of multi-cultural Sydney which is more directly aligned with its Charter," he said.

"Our residents are global citizens with global family, business and personal links to the whole world. Their stories are truly representative of SBS.

"Canterbury-Bankstown is one of the most multi-cultural cities in Australia. Our City thrives on diversity, harmony and respect of each other’s different cultures."

Mayor Asfour said SBS’s relocation to Canterbury-Bankstown would make sense, following a commitment for a new $1.3 billion Bankstown Hospital and with Western Sydney University proposing to construct a new 7,000-student campus in Bankstown.

"We are working with significant partners to help support the growing needs of not only our City but south-west Sydney," he said.

Based on SBS’s 2018 annual report, the sale of the current SBS site at Artarmon is likely to generate up to $90 million, which would significantly offset the cost of building a new home for the broadcaster in Canterbury-Bankstown.

It’s estimated, the project would also create around 400 construction jobs and generate $85 million for the local economy, and a further $100 million a year ongoing.


 9/07/2019 3:27 PM