SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

CBCity is better with trees

CBCity is better with trees A 15-year commitment by local residents has helped transform a park in Canterbury-Bankstown. No CBCity is better with trees A 15-year commitment by local residents has helped transform a park in Canterbury-Bankstown. News and Updates; Media Releases
Trees in CB City

​A 15-year commitment by local residents has helped transform a park in Canterbury-Bankstown.

Carysfield Park, Bass Hill, was once a baron grassed space, now it’s a vibrant ecological ecosystem thanks to Council’s yearly support of National Tree Day, and the support of resident volunteers.

“I have seen myself what a massive difference our annual tree planting days have made on the City, since I was first elected to Council in 2004,” Mayor Khal Asfour said.

“These annual events are a great way for our community to get their hands dirty and learn about protecting our parks and reserves for future generations to enjoy.

“The transformation of Carysfield Park was so successful, we branched out to Band Hall Reserve.”

Residents can come along to the next community tree planting event at Band Hall Reserve on Sunday 28 July, between 10am and 1pm, to help and receive their free native plant seedling in return. There will also be a free barbecue for volunteers and Council staff will be on hand to offer advice on native plants and household gardens.

Milperra resident, Joanne Somerville, and her children Maggie (18) and Thomas (19) have participated in local tree planting events since 2005.

“It has become a family tradition in our household, even with my kids grown up and one of them living away from home,” she said.

“They are both really proud to see the landscape improve over the years and they still visit ‘their’ wattle every so often to see how much it has grown.

“These events are a great way for you to be part of the community, give back to our local environment and even learn a new skill.”

Council is also supplying more than 3,400 native plants to 45 local schools taking part in Schools’ Tree Day, to plant on their grounds.

For more information and to get involved, visit cb.city/whatson


 11/09/2019 3:59 PM