SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

CBCity hosts Australian first

CBCity hosts Australian first In an Australian local government first, the City of Canterbury Bankstown has hosted more than 20 delegates at a Smart Cities think tank, tackling the question of how to engage some of the City’s most vulnerable communities on what a Smart City is. No  

In an Australian local government first, the City of Canterbury Bankstown has hosted more than 20 delegates at a Smart Cities think tank, tackling the question of how to engage some of the City’s most vulnerable communities on what a Smart City is.

Smart Cities Council Executive Director, Adam Beck, said Project Legacy was one-of-a-kind.

"I have never seen a council go to this length to inform all sections of its local community on what a Smart City is, and how they can be involved,” Mr Beck said. “It’s a game-changer!”

“The community is at the heart of everything we do, but specifically focusing on marginalised or vulnerable residents, like youth and the CALD community, is something that just isn’t done very often. Today was really special for us, at the Smart Cities Council.

 

“Today, we put every single delegate in that room to work. Everyone was so engaged and interested, and the ideas and opportunities were free-flowing. I’m excited to see what’s next for Canterbury-Bankstown.”

Delegates in attendance included:

  • Smart Cities experts from throughout Australia and the world;
  • Local community groups and residents;
  • Council staff; and
  • Event sponsors, including Smart Cities Council and Deloitte.

Mayor Khal Asfour said Canterbury-Bankstown was selected to host Project Legacy because it had a reputation for using technology for social good and having a keen focus on equity.

“Today we came up with a number of actions, which use technology and data to engage with our community and ensure everyone has a voice in our Smart Cities conversation,” he said.

 

“It was a fantastic opportunity, for delegates, to leave a lasting legacy in Canterbury-Bankstown; for the community, to be heard and play a part in designing our future; and for Council to co-create with some of the best and brightest, and emerge smarter.”

Council has also recently endorsed its draft Smart Cities Roadmap, which explores:

  • How data and technology can be used to improve the lives of residents, workers and visitors to Canterbury-Bankstown; and
  • Identify what is required to create a thriving, dynamic and real City of the future.

The roadmap will be on public exhibition until mid-June 2019. For more information, and to have your say, visit cb.city/haveyoursay


 29/10/2018 4:04 PM