SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

CBCity Finalists in Women's Awards

CBCity Finalists in Women's Awards Three employees from Canterbury-Bankstown were among 58 finalists vying for the annual Women in Local Government Awards, held at Parliament House in Sydney today. No CBCity Finalists in Women's Awards Three employees from Canterbury-Bankstown were among 58 finalists vying for the annual Women in Local Government Awards, held at Parliament House in Sydney today. News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
LG Women in Local Government nominees

Three employees from Canterbury-Bankstown were among 58 finalists vying for the annual Women in Local Government Awards, held at Parliament House in Sydney today.

Team Leader Urban and Environmental Design and City Transformation, Emily Forrest, and Team Leader Rates, Andrea Dolan were nominated in the Non-senior Staff Member category, while Internal Auditor, Linda Derbas, was in the Women in Non-traditional roles category.

Over the past 17 years, Mrs Forrest has worked on a number of community projects, however her greatest satisfaction has come from working on Bankstown City Gardens, with the construction of all-abilities amenities and playground.

“There is no better feeling than delivering great outcomes for the community,” she said.

Mrs Forrest loved how CBCity encourages innovation – both in the community and among its staff.

“I was part of the first Leadership Program and have been supported through the LGMA Mentor program, further tertiary study and many external training opportunities. Council has also provided me with the chance to act in senior positions both within my area of expertise and other departments,” she said.

Ms Dolan, who has worked in finance for Council over the past 18 years, was honoured to be considered for an award.

“I was quite shocked when I found out because I never thought what I do would be thought of as
inspirational,” she said.

“If I could give advice to any young person joining the public sector it would be embrace everything. Put your name down for anything that scares you or interests you, because you won’t regret it.”

Ms Derbas, who joined Council in 2015, said working for CBCity “ticks all the boxes”.

It is a workplace that invests in its people and sets them up to succeed and, above all, values its employees,” she said.

“What I love most about working for Council is how progressive and forward-focused it is. There’s always something new and exciting happening.”

Mayor Khal Asfour said he was proud, but not surprised, CBCity was among the best councils in NSW.

“In my opinion, it just proves we have trailblazing women working for us and the fact they were finalists in these awards is recognition of their commitment,” he said.


 7/06/2019 9:40 AM