SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Car park extension

Car park extension Twenty-three extra car parking spaces, including two disability spaces, are now available to motorists who do their shopping in Punchbowl. No Car park extension Twenty-three extra car parking spaces, including two disability spaces, are now available to motorists who do their shopping in Punchbowl. Media Releases
Mayor Asfour at Arthur Street carpark

Twenty-three extra car parking spaces, including two disability spaces, are now available to motorists who do their shopping in Punchbowl.

City of Canterbury Bankstown Mayor Khal Asfour inspected the $450,000 upgrade at Arthur Street car park, accompanied by Councillors Mohammad Huda, who was instrumental in advocating for the project.

"It is one of our most used car parks, so increasing the number of car spaces was important to meet the demand," he said.

"The construction of this extension is an important step in Council’s plans to provide more parking in Canterbury-Bankstown’s town centres, which is close to businesses, transport and services."

Works to the existing and new section of Arthur Street car park work included:

  • Extension of existing car park into adjacent vacant land; 
  • Construction of footpath, driveways and kerb ramps; 
  • Construction of new median islands, kerb and gutter; 
  • Ashphalt resurfacing and line markings; and 
  • Installation of new signage, lighting and landscaping.

Arthur Street car park was one of 11 car parking facilities upgraded by Council in 2018-19, at a total cost of $1.3 million.

Another 9 car parks are earmarked for improvements in 2019-20, with more than $2.2 million allocated for those projects at: 

  • Brandon Avenue, Bankstown; 
  • Marion Street, Bankstown; 
  • Meredith Street, Bankstown; 
  • East Hills Park, East Hills; 
  • Open area car parks in Campsie; 
  • Rabaul Road (Bankstown Aerodrome), Georges Hall; 
  • Panania Railway Station; 
  • North Terrace, Bankstown; and 
  • Sefton Golf Course, Sefton.

There are 187 car parks, including five multi-storey facilities, in Canterbury-Bankstown.

To find out more about projects to be delivered in 2019-2020, visit cb.city/councilprojects


 9/07/2019 3:53 PM