SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Business Walk and Talk engages owners

Business Walk and Talk engages owners The City of Canterbury Bankstown has launched a new initiative, aimed at further engaging with the local business community, and improving trading conditions in the city. No  

​The City of Canterbury Bankstown has launched a new initiative, aimed at further engaging with the local business community, and improving trading conditions in the city.

The pilot program, called Business Walk and Talk, educates businesses on Council policies impacting them, such as food safety, dumped rubbish, parking, footpath obstructions and unauthorised trading. The first pop-up engagement occurred in Bankstown City Plaza (Saigon Place), Bankstown, last week.

"We had 66 conversations with business owners and residents, and had 25 businesses take an anti-litter pledge on the day," Mayor Khal Asfour said.

"Most of our businesses do the right thing, but there are some which operate outside their permit for one reason or another, most of the time because they don’t understand what they can and can’t do.

"Now we’ve started this friendly conversation, it’s our responsibility to continue checking in with these businesses to ensure they feel supported.

"Feedback from business owners has been positive, with many feeling engaged rather than feeling hassled or like they were breaking the rules."

Kim Le has operated Huong Giang Perfume River Jewellery on Chapel Road for 42 years.

"I find a lot of rubbish left at the front of my store, but it’s not from the shop keepers who have been here for a while, it is from new businesses and nearby residents," Ms Le said.

"It’s up to the older business owners to lead by example and encourage young business owners to help keep this City clean.

"I am happy Council will now be actively working with local businesses to achieve this and educate them to do the right thing."

The next Business Walk and Talk is scheduled for early next year at Waterloo Road, Greenacre.


 12/02/2019 12:00 PM