SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Business Walk and Talk engages owners

Business Walk and Talk engages owners The City of Canterbury Bankstown has launched a new initiative, aimed at further engaging with the local business community, and improving trading conditions in the city. No  

​The City of Canterbury Bankstown has launched a new initiative, aimed at further engaging with the local business community, and improving trading conditions in the city.

The pilot program, called Business Walk and Talk, educates businesses on Council policies impacting them, such as food safety, dumped rubbish, parking, footpath obstructions and unauthorised trading. The first pop-up engagement occurred in Bankstown City Plaza (Saigon Place), Bankstown, last week.

"We had 66 conversations with business owners and residents, and had 25 businesses take an anti-litter pledge on the day," Mayor Khal Asfour said.

"Most of our businesses do the right thing, but there are some which operate outside their permit for one reason or another, most of the time because they don’t understand what they can and can’t do.

"Now we’ve started this friendly conversation, it’s our responsibility to continue checking in with these businesses to ensure they feel supported.

"Feedback from business owners has been positive, with many feeling engaged rather than feeling hassled or like they were breaking the rules."

Kim Le has operated Huong Giang Perfume River Jewellery on Chapel Road for 42 years.

"I find a lot of rubbish left at the front of my store, but it’s not from the shop keepers who have been here for a while, it is from new businesses and nearby residents," Ms Le said.

"It’s up to the older business owners to lead by example and encourage young business owners to help keep this City clean.

"I am happy Council will now be actively working with local businesses to achieve this and educate them to do the right thing."

The next Business Walk and Talk is scheduled for early next year at Waterloo Road, Greenacre.


 12/02/2019 12:00 PM