SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Builders urged to get the site right

Builders urged to get the site right Construction sites will be the target of a blitz in Canterbury-Bankstown, to make sure erosion and sediment control measures are in place. No  

Construction sites will be the target of a blitz in Canterbury-Bankstown, to make sure erosion and sediment control measures are in place.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the blitz is part of the Sydney-wide Get the Site Right campaign, which has proven very successful to date.

“A building site can lose up to four truckloads of dirt in a single storm, if not properly contained,” he said.

“That ends up in our waterways which leads to pollution, and can destroy aquatic habitats and smother native plants and animals.

“So, this campaign is about educating builders and developers to make sure they are doing the right thing.

“Then, if they do not listen and act quickly, we wield the stick and they learn the hard way through fines.”

Earlier this year, 250 tonnes of silt was removed from a 500-metre stretch of the Cooks River in Campsie, this followed 500 tonnes found in the same area in 2015.

This will be the third blitz Council has conducted as part of the Get the Site Right campaign. In May, 51 sites were inspected with only 17 found to be compliant. A follow-up visit saw a further 26 meet the requirements.

“Unfortunately, there were eight which ignored the warnings and were issued with fines totalling $38,000,” Mayor Asfour said.

“There are really no excuses for builders not to be aware of their responsibilities, when it comes to sediment controls, because we send them an information pack once a development application is approved.”

Residents are encouraged to call 9707 9000, if they suspect builders and developers are not following construction approval conditions. Pollution incidents can also be reported directly to the Environment Protection Authority (EPA) on 131 555.


 20/11/2018 9:55 AM