SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Budget benefits parks

Budget benefits parks Work will start shortly on a new playground in Lakemba, in the next stage of improvements planned for Parry Park. No  

​Work will start shortly on a new playground in Lakemba, in the next stage of improvements planned for Parry Park.

Overnight, the City of Canterbury Bankstown committed $1.5 million to the project.

Mayor Khal Asfour said the new accessible playground will be the largest construction project carried out in the City’s parks in 2019-20.

"It follows considerable public consultation, where resident feedback was used to determine what work will be undertaken," he said.

"More than 10,000 residents, businesses and community groups told us that promoting active lifestyles should be a priority in CBCity.

"Residents also told us they want accessible parks and open spaces, catering for all ages, and that’s what we’ll be delivering in Lakemba."

The start of the new playground follows the completion of work to upgrade four playing fields, covering 31,000 square metres at Parry Park, including:

  • New irrigation and drainage systems;
  • Field re-levelling; and
  • Returfing.

A total of $3.5 million has been allocated by Council to parks-related projects in 2019-20, as part of a record $100 million capital works program. Parry Park is among 8 locations where playgrounds will be installed or upgraded. Others include:

  • Mount Lewis Park, Mount Lewis;
  • Northcote Reserve, Greenacre;
  • Killara Reserve, Panania;
  • Garrison Point Reserve, Georges Hall;
  • Bazentin Street Reserve, Belfield;
  • Anne Pringle Reserve, Lakemba; and
  • Wagener Oval, Ashbury.

The sites listed will be upgraded in accordance with Council’s Playgrounds and Play Spaces Strategic Plan.


 20/08/2019 11:53 AM