SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Australia Day Awards openhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/australia-day-awards-openAustralia Day Awards open2019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Connective City 2036https://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-connective-city-2036Have your say on Connective City 20362019-09-24T14:00:00Z
Make connections this Mental Health Monthhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/make-connections-this-mental-health-monthMake connections this Mental Health Month2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor's plea as weather warmshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayors-plea-as-weather-warmsMayor's plea as weather warms2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
School Holiday Excitementhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/school-holiday-excitementSchool Holiday Excitement2019-09-23T14:00:00Z
Mayor and Deputy Mayor electedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayor-and-deputy-mayor-electedMayor and Deputy Mayor elected2019-09-18T14:00:00Z
Man fined after illegally dumping car partshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/man-fined-after-illegally-dumping-car-partsMan fined after illegally dumping car parts2019-09-16T14:00:00Z
Dog park is off-leashhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/dog-park-is-off-leashDog park is off-leash2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Scores on Schools scored another awardhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/scores-on-schools-scored-another-awardScores on Schools scored another award2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Illegal dumping declines following campaignhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/illegal-dumping-declines-following-campaignIllegal dumping declines following campaign2019-09-09T14:00:00Z
Mayoral Scholarship Programhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/mayoral-scholarship-programMayoral Scholarship Program2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Have your say on Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/have-your-say-on-youth-action-planHave your say on Youth Action Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Community groups benefit from $500,000 in grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-groups-benefit-from-$500-000-in-grantsCommunity groups benefit from $500,000 in grants2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Leisure and Aquatic Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/leisure-and-aquatic-strategic-planLeisure and Aquatic Strategic Plan2019-08-27T14:00:00Z
Child Protection Weekhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/child-protection-weekChild Protection Week2019-08-26T14:00:00Z
Christmas decoration grantshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/christmas-decoration-grantsChristmas decoration grants2019-08-26T14:00:00Z

Big drop in domestic violence

Big drop in domestic violence The number of domestic violence-related incidences has fallen by almost 20 per cent over the past two years in Canterbury-Bankstown. No  

The number of domestic violence-related incidences has fallen by almost 20 per cent over the past two years in Canterbury-Bankstown.

According to the newly-released NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research (BOCSAR) data, there was a 17.3 per cent decline in domestic violence incidents, from July 2016 to June 2018.

Mayor Khal Asfour said, as a White Ribbon Ambassador, he was proud to see the statistics reflect the hard work residents, community organisations and local Police have put into preventing instances of domestic violence.

"As a Council, we continue to focus on educating the community through workshops and events, and emphasising the message that domestic violence has no place not just in our City, but anywhere," he said.

"Although, we still have a long way to go – just a single incident of domestic violence, in my book, is one too many."

Some of the events and workshops Council has supported to raise awareness and decrease the occurrence of domestic violence this year, include:

  • Launch of the Canterbury Bankstown Says NO to Domestic Violence campaign – creation of 14 banners by the Canterbury-Bankstown Domestic Violence Liaison Committee (CBDVLC), aimed to change perceptions around domestic violence and provide support to victims;
  • White Ribbon Night Youth Showcase - an event, coordinated by Bankstown Youth Development Service, focused on promoting the White Ribbon message of speaking up and out about domestic violence and treating women equally; and
  • Officers from the newly created Bankstown Police Domestic Violence Unit attending CBDVLC meetings and presenting at Council’s Community Safety Reference Group.

There are also a number of events and workshops still to come this year, including:

  • A Domestic Violence Conference for workers in the domestic violence space, on Tuesday 16 October, which will be run by Council in partnership with CBDVLC;
  • Council’s annual White Ribbon Tug ‘O’ War Cup, on Thursday 22 November; and
  • The annual No Excuse for Abuse Lakemba March, on Friday 23 November.

The BOCSAR statistics also showed over the period, there was a decline in eight other major crime categories, including:

  • Motor vehicle theft (down 16.3 per cent);
  • Theft from a motor vehicle (down 14.8 per cent);
  • Fraud (down 8.6 per cent); and
  • Damage to property (down 7.9 per cent).

For more information on how Council is helping to make Canterbury-Bankstown even safer, call 9707 9471 or visit cb.city/safety


 14/02/2019 9:17 AM