SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Belly dancing for seniors at Active Ageing Expo

Belly dancing for seniors at Active Ageing Expo Age is just a number when it comes to getting involved in activities at the Canterbury-Bankstown & South-West Sydney Active Ageing Expo. No  

Age is just a number when it comes to getting involved in activities at the Canterbury-Bankstown & South-West Sydney Active Ageing Expo.

From 10am-2pm on Thursday 29 November, hundreds of senior citizens are expected to attend the Expo at Bankstown Sports Club.

Throughout the day, seniors can take part in fun activities, including exercise programs, demonstrations, learning opportunities, even belly dancing!

Inspire Bellydance founder, Rachel Bond, will be hosting belly dancing and low impact Zumba classes.

"You can be any age to belly dance! I have people in their 60s and 70s taking my classes," Ms Bond said.

"The beauty about belly dancing is that it is low impact. There’s no jumping or bouncing, which are typically the moves that can be really hard on joints.

"Belly dancing fosters your flexibility and range of motion, which is especially important because, as we age, we tend to lose a lot of mobility in certain joints, like our hips, back and shoulders."

Mayor Khal Asfour said the Expo will provide many benefits for local seniors.

"According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, approximately 7.5 per cent of our population is aged over 65," he said.

"Events like these ensure we’re catering to our community and delivering information, options and opportunity to remain active and healthy, physically, mentally and socially.

"The focus will be about strengthening their competency and awareness of wellness and reablement approaches to navigate the Australian Aged Care system, as well as, empowering them to make informed decisions relating to their aged care needs."

For more information, call 9707 9464 or visit cb.city/ageingexpo


 27/11/2018 1:23 PM