SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

Bearded Bakers bake and shake in CBCity

Bearded Bakers bake and shake in CBCity It’s been five years in the making, but Sydney’s famed Bearded Bakers are finally bringing their all-singing all-dancing shipping container bakery to Bankstown’s Paul Keating Park. No  

It’s been five years in the making, but Sydney’s famed Bearded Bakers are finally bringing their all-singing all-dancing shipping container bakery to Bankstown’s Paul Keating Park.

Brothers Ameer and Joey El Issa, and sister Mouna Emsis, who are the brainchildren behind the skyrocketing business, will be selling their signature sweet, Knafeh – A Middle Eastern sweet cheese, cream and semolina dessert, topped with crushed pistachios, soaked in rosewater sugar syrup.

"We’re looking forward to Shaking and Baking in Bankstown," Joey said.

"From the very beginning, we’ve had our hearts set on the heart of Canterbury-Bankstown. It’s a massive focal point for western Sydney. To be honest, we love the demographic and can’t wait to bring Paul Keating Park to life, connecting people through good food and music, while sharing our culture.

"It’s not what you do but how you do it. We feel privileged that we’ve been able to take barriers down between religions and cultures, and celebrate Australia’s multiculturalism. Wherever we pop-up, we’re just excited to create an experience and interact with people."

The El Issa family’s venture has gone from strength to strength, having opened pop-up shipping containers in Sydney, Melbourne and New York, and soon Beirut.

Mayor Khal Asfour welcomed the Bearded Bakers and their 45-strong crew.

"A strong focus for us is activating our night-time economy and supporting businesses to think about trading more on weeknights," he said.

"What I love about the Knafeh boys – apart from the knafeh – is the culture and atmosphere they bring with them everywhere they go. It really is something to see. They bring so many people from all walks of life together and I look forward to seeing what magic they bring to CBCity."

The Bearded Bakers will be at Paul Keating Park from 20-23 June and 27-30 June, from 6pm till late.


 7/08/2019 10:16 AM